Popular Tags: [View All]
Matt Cross
United States
Stoughton
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
This post is from my blog http://metroburbgamers.blogspot.com

Recently I have been thinking about my gaming addiction... or more specifically my game ACQUISITION addiction. I have always been a completist and a collector. When I was a kid it was G.I. Joe or Transformers or Baseball Cards. When I got older it was classic console video games, after that it was modern video games.

I'm also a shopper and a researcher. What I mean is that a ton of my leisure time is spent reading about things that can be bought, I don't know what it is about product information that is so attractive to me but I literally cannot get enough of reviews and information about things. When I read a series of very positive reviews of anything I immediately become sensitive to price and availability. Will this thing that I might want at some point be available when I want it or will it be scare by then. Oh and let me tell you there is nothing that disturbs my psyche more than something I might have wanted selling out and becoming an eBay item demanding huge prices. That triggers some sort of chemical response in my brain that forces me to either buy right away or track the item down at all costs after the fact. And what about sales and such? Sometimes I know I don't need or want or even have time to use the thing I'm buying but I just know I'm seeing it for the lowest price it will ever be offered for. In this case I often cannot resist a purchase. Wait until your birthday or Christmas my family will say. But the thought of someone spending $15 more on something I want later on when it is no longer on sale or god forbid not being able to get it at all at that point is too much mental weight for me to bear. So I just go ahead and buy.