Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
12 Posts

Descent: The Road to Legend» Forums » Rules

Subject: Villager LOS rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Caleb Edwards
Canada
Toronto
Ontario
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
We were playing a session recently and came across dungeon number 9 (I believe); the one with the prisoners. The question was, would the villagers, once the doors of their prisons had been opened, prevent the overlord from spawning monsters. I.e., do they have LOS?

We couldn't seem to find an answer in the RTL descriptions of villagers, so I (as the OL) closed the doors, then spawned.

Any help would be appreciated.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Aubert
France
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Nope they don't have LOS.

Basically, only heroes have LOS.
Then you can add 'Boggs the Rat' and 'Eye in a Bottle'.

And I think you have pretty much eveything that can hinder your spawn.


EDIT:
BTW, spawnning is only used at the beginning of your turn.
That means that if you use a monster to close a door, you have lost your spawn for this turn.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Caleb Edwards
Canada
Toronto
Ontario
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
Thanks -- so I should have been able to spawn, but "cheated" to do it the way that I did. As a related question, can you spawn, flip the spawn marker (by paying threat) and spawn again? Or are you limited to once per turn?

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris J Davis
United Kingdom
London
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Overtext pending moderation...
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Once per turn.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bryann Turner
United States
Portland
Oregon
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You may only spawn once each turn.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Derek Holmes
Australia
Bass Hill
NSW
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Another one...


Do villagers BLOCK LOS for spawning purposes?

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Aubert
France
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Since monsters and heroes don't.

I played it, as though they are not blocking it too.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gilles Duchesne
Canada
Ottawa
Ontario
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
deh7402 wrote:
Do villagers BLOCK LOS for spawning purposes?

This was discussed not too long ago. And I was proven wrong, actually.

The conclusion of that thread was that, in the rules as written, only monsters are ignored when checking LOS for spawns. Even if one assumes (like I do) that this should mean "enemy figures", it still wouldn't include villagers, who are neutral figures at best.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Garth Bowden
United States
Oregon
flag msg tools
Avatar
mb
just out of curiosity relating to that dungeon: does this mean that the Overlord could spawn monsters inside the room with the villagers and immediately kill them?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris J Davis
United Kingdom
London
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Overtext pending moderation...
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Dragon_Slave wrote:
just out of curiosity relating to that dungeon: does this mean that the Overlord could spawn monsters inside the room with the villagers and immediately kill them?


Yep.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Corbon Loughnan
Indonesia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
bleached_lizard wrote:
Dragon_Slave wrote:
just out of curiosity relating to that dungeon: does this mean that the Overlord could spawn monsters inside the room with the villagers and immediately kill them?


Yep.


No.

FAQ pg9
Dungeon Level 9: The Prison
Treat the cells as unrevealed areas for the purposes of spawning.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris J Davis
United Kingdom
London
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Overtext pending moderation...
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
corbon wrote:
bleached_lizard wrote:
Dragon_Slave wrote:
just out of curiosity relating to that dungeon: does this mean that the Overlord could spawn monsters inside the room with the villagers and immediately kill them?


Yep.


No.

FAQ pg9
Dungeon Level 9: The Prison
Treat the cells as unrevealed areas for the purposes of spawning.


Fair enough.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.