Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Hopefully becoming a restaurant owner soon! Peter Melanson
Canada
New Brunswick
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
I recently played in a 200 person no limit hold-em tournament and came in first place.

I'm not a professional player nor do I profess to be one. I play more for the enjoyment and am known as a bit of a talker at the table.

The tournament was played over 2 days and the heads’ up battle itself took about 20 minutes to play itself out.

Of course with any poker tournament, you have to rely on a little luck to make it through a large field. I took some notes during the tournament of hands I was involved with that were turning points in the tournament.

Important hand #1:

This hand occurred after the blinds had gone to level 3. Blinds were 25/50 and I was first to act.

My hole cards: A♦ J♦

With the ace jack suited, I put in a standard raise of 150. The dealer called, and both blinds called.

Number of players to the flop: 4

Flop: J♣ 3♠ 7♦

As first to act, and flopping top pair with top kicker, I followed up with a bet of 300. Dealer folded, small blind called, big blind folded.

Turn: J♣ 3♠ 7♦ 7♠

The 7 made me kind of worry a little. Pairing the board can cause a lot of problems when trying to analyze what your opponent has. I checked at this point and gave my opponent control. He checked right behind me.

River: J♣ 3♠ 7♦ 7♠ J♠

The jack on the river gave me a full house. The only hand at this point that is beating me is four seven’s. I’m not putting my opponent on that, I am thinking at this point he more than likely has a flush. I value betted my full house putting 900 into the pot. My opponent paused and looked at his hand several times, and raised me another 2000. I’m now thinking that he does have a flush, either it not being a strong flush or is trying to get me to come over the top. I made the call.

Showdown:
J♣ 3 ♠ 7♦ 7♠ J♠

Me: A♦ J♦
Opponent: A♠ 9♠

Me: Full house, jacks full of 7’s