Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Last Night on Earth: The Zombie Game» Forums » Rules

Subject: Last Night On Earth rule clearification rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Mr. Cee
United States
California
flag msg tools
New to LNOE and I need clearification on a rule pretaining ot fighting from page 15. If the hero rolls a double that is not higher than the zombies roll, does that double still wound the zombie and prevents the hero from being wounded? Ex. hero rolls double 2 and zombie a 5? Or does the double the hero rolls have to be higher than the zombies roll?

Rule from page 15: If a Hero has a higher roll and has rolled doubles on ANY of their Fight Dice (...) the zombie takes the wound.

What happens in the scenario listed above: hero rolls double 2 and a zombie rolls a 5? Who gets a wound? We are thrown off by "ANY" in the rule: "doubles on ANY of their Fight Dice?"

I believe that the hero's higher dice fends off the zombie and only a higher double wounds the zombie. Ex. Hero rolls double 5 and zombie rolls a 2.

Some players I've played with believe that any double (even a lower double) wounds the zombie, but also wounds the hero because the hero's double is lower than the zombies roll. Ex. Hero rolls double 2 and zombie rolls a 5. Others believe any double the hero rolls wounds the zombie and prevents the hero from being wounded altogether.

Thank you very much.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
.308 Jake
Canada
Hamilton
Ontario
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You have to have one die highier than the zombies to fend him off. Your doubles can be lower but at least one die has to be higher or else the zombie wounds you. The highest die always wins. So in your example if the hero rolled 3 dice one would have to be a 6 to fend off the zombie but he could kill the zombie if the other 2 dice were doubles of any number. But if the hero rolled a 4 he would get wounded even if the 2 other dice were doubles (lower than 5). Doubles only matter if you've won the fight.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Dippel
United States
Merrick
NY
flag msg tools
Commentary! The OverText
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I believe that the hero has to roll higher than the zombie to fend it off, so therefore, when rolling only two dice, he/she needs to roll doubles that are higher to beat and wound the zombie. BUT if the hero is rolling three or more dice, one die needs to be higher to fend the zombie off and any set of doubles wounds it.

Ex. 1: (Hero rolling only two dice)
Zombie rolls a five.
Hero rolls double fours.
Hero is wounded.

Ex. 2: (Hero rolling four dice)
Zombie rolls a five.
Hero rolls a six, a four, and double threes.
Zombie is wounded.

So go get some weapons...

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
.308 Jake
Canada
Hamilton
Ontario
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
loops08 wrote:
We are thrown off by "ANY" in the rule: "doubles on ANY of their Fight Dice?"


Your forgeting the "AND" part of the quote. You need a higher roll AND doubles.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gordon Adams
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
mb

Yep, where are those doubles when you really did them ! angry laugh
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.