Hide
15 Posts

Age of Conan: The Strategy Board Game» Forums » General

Subject: Thoughts of a first time player rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Ell Perry
msg tools
Firstly, I am new to BGG. In fact, apart from purchasing Fluxx about 2 months ago, I am almost completely new the board game world and as such probably very different from your average BGG user.

However, I would not count myself as any less of an enthusiast for Conan Lore, Board Games, Game nights and enjoying sociable times with friends. My comments completely derive from having attempted to play Conan twice, culminating in about 5 hours of “play time” and not having completed EVEN ONE age change phase. There would appear to be a standard on BGG that users write reviews after several sessions with a new game and so I assume users will baulk at the thought of my comments on this game without having even completed a third of it. But please hear me out….

Simply, the rule book is absolutely terrible at conveying even simple ideas on the game. Of the 5 hours play time, 4 of those have been myself and 3 other friends attempting to decipher the rules and find some common vein of thought. Having read many other reviews on BGG, I believe this is due to the nature of the game having so many different types of game play occurring at once. An example would be the explanation of Army units, shown by the fact that only on a tiny separate box within the rules does it actually mention that “An army can actually consist of many single units called armies, which also go by the name ‘Army’”. Up until then, my friends and I were still under the illusion that only one army unit could be moved per go.

I am trying to not make this sound like a rant and I certainly wouldn’t waste all of your good time asking for explanations to simple rules such as the above. We will instead persevere and my gaming group will now reconvene for another stab at trying to understand what Age of Conan actually is.