Popular Tags: gaming_club [+] [View All]
Ryan Full
United States
Vienna
West Virginia
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
I have been running a very casual school game club for about four years now. I did no advertising and let it grow via word of mouth. We met after school once a week.

Recently I moved from a middle school to a high school and am wanting to advertise the club as well as get things formalized a little more. I think it would be good to have a President and Vice-President to help control the cleanup, maintenance, and the greeting of new people and getting them involved.

The problem is, I have never done anything in a formal club fashion, so I turn to you good folks here. How do you think it should be handled? Elections? Appointing the Pres and VP? Requirements for the positions? Responsibilities?

Going from Middle School to HS has been an adjustment. :lol:
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Christian Killoran
United States
Denver
Colorado
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
In general, I think having club officers who can be responsible for the functions you mention is an excellent idea. In fact, holding elections for club officers may be mandatory for your club to be in compliance with school activities policy. The Activities Director at your school should be able to advise you on those kinds of requirements.

In any case, it sounds like you will be unfamiliar with the individual kids' leadership / responsibility / promotional abilities at the beginning of this school year. You could announce that officers will be elected in the near future and see who is interested, then let candidates know what you expect from the eventual winners.
I've always thought it would be cool to select officers based on the results of some kind of game tournament, but have never actually done this. Of course, good players are not necessarily good leaders...but if you have no other way at a new school to select officers it might be worth a try!