Recommend
5 
 Thumb up
 Hide
1 Posts

White Death» Forums » Rules

Subject: Fire & Movement #21 Erratum with Q & A *Bonus* rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Robert Wesley
Nepal
Aberdeen
Washington
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mb
From the "grognard.com" LINK there: http://www.grognard.com/errata/wdeath.txt
and also presented here as well "just in case":

#######################################################################

From F&M 21

White Death Questions

Question: At which point in the sequence of play must the phasing player specify which enemy unit or hex each of his assaulting units will assault? Must this be done before or after resolution of barrage fire?

Answer: The hex to be assaulted by a unit must be specified in the Movement Phase (before barrage fire) when the assault is placed. Let the marker's arrow point to the target hex.

Q: As a consequence, a unit with assault marker cannot assault at all if its target hex has been vacated as a result of barrage fire, even if other enemy units are adjacent. Is that correct?

A: Yes. The unit may not assault, but may advance into the vacated hex.

Q: Just to be sure because this is so important for play balance: according to the rules, a unit in a bunker receives terrain modifiers for both bunker and town when under barrage fire. Is that correct?

A: Yes.

Q: At which point in the sequence of p1ay must artillery support be allocated?

A: The non-phasing player allocates in the Defensive Fire Phase; the phasing player, in the Assault Phase. That is, no allocation is necessary before the fire is executed.

Q: The rule on Rocket Barrage states that, if only 2 supply points are spent, German rocket barrage is conducted at 'half of their printed barrage factors" (emphasis added). This appears to imply that halving is in lieu of, not in addition to, possible other halving (for range or isolation). Correct?

A: No, halving is in addition to possible other halving.

Q: According to the victory point schedules, 5 VPs are given "per impulse" for each town hex "held" on the Leningrad-Vitebsk railway. For an impulse to count, must the town have been occupied throughout the duration of the impulse or only at the end? And does this rule apply to Soviet impulses only, or to German ones as well?

A: Only Soviet impulses qualify, and the town need be occupied only at the end of the impulse.

Q: A ski unit has retreated before combat (see Errata) and is pursued by an assaulting enemy ski unit. May the retreating unit conduct defensive fire before being assaulted?

A: Yes.

Official White Death Errata

Map:

The city name Velikiye Luki has been anglicized to agree with the game title and rules references. The correct German spelling is Welikije Luki.

Nowossokoljniki is misspelled on the map.

Counters:

Germans:

The single company of captured T-34s should be identified as the 2/66, not 2/60 company.

The 1/55 Rocket battalion should have a barrage factor of 20, not 30.

The counter backs have been reversed for the 3/5 Ski-Jaeger company and the 459 SS Assault Gun Company.

Soviet:

The unidentified motorcycle battalion is the 68th.

The 111/793 Artillery Battalion (of the 257th Rifle Division) should have an initial strength of 2, not 3.

The 1124th Rifle Regiment is a component unit of the 334th Rifle Division, not the 34th.

Set-Up Sheet:

No space was provided for the German 11/47th Artillery Battalion. The battalion was a component of Arko 103, but was attached to the 331st Infantry Division.

Some confusion is possible concerning the placement of the 111/112th Artillery Battalion (of 3rd Mountain Division). This battalion was organic to the 3rd Mountain Division (and thus bears its divisional identification) but was assigned administratively to Arko 103, and thus its box is in the Arko 103 section of the Set-Up Chart. However, the battalion was deployed in the 3rd Mountain Division sector, and thus when set-up information calls for all units of the division this includes the 111/112th Artillery.

Soviet Order of Appearance:

This is slightly scrambled. On turns II through VI the Soviets receive 3 supply points per turn rather than the numbers listed on the chart.

Rules:

4-B: Note that the three battalions of divisional artillery organic to each Soviet Rifle Division constitute a single regiment for stacking purposes .

4-C: The rules on limited intelligence do not interfere with the ability of units to spot enemy deployed artillery.

11-C: If a player has declared an assault on a hex and the hex is completely vacated of enemy units as a result of barrage fire, the player may nevertheless occupy the vacated hex as if a successful assault had been conducted.

13: In thaw weather AFVs crossing a partial lake hexside do not roll for tank loss through ice breakthrough if they are moving along a road or rallroad.

15: Supply and isolation status of units is determined at the beginning of each impulse.

19: Bunkers need not be manned to use their fire factors. Bunkers do not have zones of control, but a Soviet unit may not enter a bunker hex except as a result of an assault. If at the conclusion of all combat there are no German units in a bunker hex, any surviving Soviet units which assaulted the hex may enter it. Bunkers may not be fired at using conventional fire, but an assault may be declared against a bunker hex even if there are no German units in the hex. In this case the Soviet units would not fire at all, but would occupy the bunker hex if they survived the bunker's defensive fire. Once occupied by a Soviet unit, a bunker is destroyed.

21-E. Ski Units (New Section): Both players have a number of ski units. In addition to being able to move through enemy zones of control (see Rule 3), ski units may retreat before combat. After all assaults are declared, ski units of the defending player may retreat one hex, provided that hex is not into the ZOC of an enemy ski unit. Following this retreat any enemy ski unit which was committed to assault the defending ski unit may advance into the vacated hex and conduct its assault normally. Following the resolution of this assault, any other units which were assaulting the original hex may advance into it as well. Both the pursuit by assaulting ski units and the advance after combat of the non-ski units must not violate stacking limits.

23: The second to the last sentence in the first paragraph should read: "If this rule is used then all weapons units automatically abandon their equipment when they are forced to rout or retreat through an enemy ZOC."

#######################################################################
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.