Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Modern Art» Forums » Rules

Subject: Art not placing in top 3 is worthless ...? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Stephen Ziemba
United States
Folsom
California
flag msg tools
I've recently played this game with a group which played that art is worth cumulative value regardless of whether it places in top 3. They have a German edition with translated (not sure where translation came from) rules. Is there any version of the game where art isn't worthless when it doesn't place?

The rules as far as I know in all versions state only art in top 3 (if there is 3 art out) is worth something and remaining is worthless.
Example:
Krypto is first in first round (30), 2nd in 2nd round (20+30=50) and doesn't place in third round so is worthless (0).

Under the rules they played the Krypto would be worth 50 the cumulative value instead, which really changes the game.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dan Blum
United States
Wilmington
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
badge
That is the rule in all versions. That group is playing incorrectly.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Teacher Fletcher
United States
Chicago
Illinois
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Any artist who does not place in the top 3 of a given round has his paintings rendered worthless for that round, no matter how much latent value is carried over from previous rounds.

Any artist that does place in the top 3 has his paintings previous values added to the total, even if he did not place in one or more intermediate rounds.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
United States
SoCal
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Weigh in here to agree with the 2 responses we have so far AFAIK.

At least in the engligh Mayfair editions (smaller box that used to be sold at B&N and larger box that was twice the size of this one) that's how that is.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Todd Redden
United States
Manchester
Connecticut
flag msg tools
Nut'n honey
badge
"One of the key problems today is that politics is such a disgrace, good people don't go into government." - Donald Trump
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Only art which places in the top 3 each round is worth anything. Art which does place also gets the value it attained in previous rounds added in, but if it doesn't place in any given round it is worth 0 (nothing, nada).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.