Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
2 Posts

Operation» Forums » Rules

Subject: Doctors who are Specialists rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Crazy Adam
Canada
Toronto
Ontario
flag msg tools
Congratulations. You have just discovered the secret message.
badge
Please send your answer to Old Pink, care of the Funny Farm, Chalfont.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
There is a rule in the 1965 edition of Operation that seems to have been removed in the late 90s edition (and current ones). Just in case you are not familiar with it, I'll share it with you here:

Rule #9
If a player drawing a DOCTOR card also has the SPECIALIST card for that operation, he gets TWO tries at performing the operation. His first try is for the DOCTOR card fee and the second try for the SPECIALIST card fee. If he fails both times, the DOCTOR card is returned to the bottom of the pile, but he keeps the SPECIALIST card.
---

Obviously, this rule doesn't make a whole lot of sense. A player would happily be unsuccessful the first time on the DOCTOR's fee, in order to attempt a successful operation at the SPECIALIST fee.

The way I play the game is that if you have the SPECIALIST and DOCTOR card, you can operate once at the SPECIALIST fee. Seems like a good enough bonus, without giving that player too much of an advantage.

I find it strange that Hasbro decided to delete the rule, rather than modify it.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Clay Berry
United States
Raleigh
North Carolina
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
freechinanow wrote:
There is a rule in the 1965 edition of Operation that seems to have been removed in the late 90s edition (and current ones). Just in case you are not familiar with it, I'll share it with you here:

Rule #9
If a player drawing a DOCTOR card also has the SPECIALIST card for that operation, he gets TWO tries at performing the operation. His first try is for the DOCTOR card fee and the second try for the SPECIALIST card fee. If he fails both times, the DOCTOR card is returned to the bottom of the pile, but he keeps the SPECIALIST card.
---

Obviously, this rule doesn't make a whole lot of sense. A player would happily be unsuccessful the first time on the DOCTOR's fee, in order to attempt a successful operation at the SPECIALIST fee.

The way I play the game is that if you have the SPECIALIST and DOCTOR card, you can operate once at the SPECIALIST fee. Seems like a good enough bonus, without giving that player too much of an advantage.

I find it strange that Hasbro decided to delete the rule, rather than modify it.


I just bought this and there is no specification about what to do in this case either way.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.