Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

Mare Nostrum» Forums » Rules

Subject: "Defending" Triremes rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Daniel Corban
Canada
Newmarket
Ontario
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
When someone moves their Triremes into a space occupied by an opponent's Triremes, can either of the players request combat, or only the person doing the moving?

I am thinking of Antike/Imperial here, where combat can be demanded by either player. However, the Mare Nostrum rules seem to say that only the person moving ("attacker" is how it is worded) can demand combat. Otherwise, the ships share the area peacefully.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Maarten D. de Jong
Netherlands
Zaandam
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
Only the active player has the ability to declare an attack. All inactive players invariably defend.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Julio

Hidalgo
Texas
msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
cymric wrote:
Only the active player has the ability to declare an attack. All inactive players invariably defend.


With the expansion rules, the greeks have the option to defend themselves (greek naval blockade rule).
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Daniel Corban
Canada
Newmarket
Ontario
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
If you wish to discuss the expansion, please do it on the appropriate forums.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chef D
United States
US Armed Forces - Americas
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Sounds like somebody needs a big hug. BTW, Daniel, many people actually play with rule modifications for the base game that came out with the expansion. These modifications were designed by the author to fix specific problems associated with the Greeks. The Greek Naval Blockade gives the Greeks different combat abilities as it pertains to Triremes. While you don't have to have the expansion to make these changes, it does help. If not, Enders Game has put out a great document listing the changes that you can make to the base game to make it play more balanced.

Here is the link:

http://www.boardgamegeek.com/filepage/36493

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Daniel Corban
Canada
Newmarket
Ontario
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You have to understand the frustration of trying to find pure non-expansion content in these forums when almost every thread mentions the expansion either directly, or via optional rule changes, neither of which concern me, and if they did, I would hit the expansion forums (or at least the variant forum here). I am not sure why these forums are spammed with so much expansion content when there are clearly defined expansion forums. As an "Agricola Fan", wouldn't you be annoyed if virtually every Agricola post/review/session was related to the Z deck or some other expansion you didn't care one iota about?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Maarten D. de Jong
Netherlands
Zaandam
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
Don't be too sour, Daniel. Things simply are a bit muddled when it comes to the base game, as some of the 'variants' are practically official rule changes in themselves, causing the dividing line between base game, base game with rule changes, and Mythology expansion to be less clear than we'd probably all would like it to be.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dietrich Lichtenfeld
Germany
flag msg tools
Daniel, to answer your question:

Quote:
When someone moves their Triremes into a space occupied by an opponent's Triremes, can either of the players request combat, or only the person doing the moving?

The latter.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.