Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Small World» Forums » Rules

Subject: Newbie ?? RE: turn order. rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
chazong xiong
United States
Minnesota
flag msg tools
mb
EX: for a two player game.
Player A goes first.

Player A takes the first turn.
Does player A play all turns, that is 1) pick race/special powers
2) conquer regions and then 3)scores victory points.
Then Player B plays his first turn.

OR
Does player A play 1)pick race/special powers.
then player B play 1)pick race/special powers.
player A plays 2)conquer regions.
player B plays 2)conquer regions.
Player A plays 3)score points
Player B plays 3)score points


I hope my questions makes sense. just got the game and 1st game have yet to be play.
Thanks.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John Earles
Canada
Toronto
Ontario
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Each player conducts their full turn independently. So Player 1 chooses a race and then expands (or declines) and then scores. Then the next player, and the next, etc.
9 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lee Hodgson
Canada
Calgary
Alberta
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Totally makes sense because I had the same question puzzle me . Thanks John for the clarification !
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Pedro Soares
Portugal
Galiza, S. Joao do Estoril
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Except for first turn!!!
Player A chooses race
Player B chooses race
Player A enters board
Player A redeploys
Player A scores
Player B enters board
Player B redeploys
Player B scores
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dan Schaeffer
United States
Unspecified
Illinois
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
kulkat wrote:
Except for first turn!!!
Player A chooses race
Player B chooses race
Player A enters board
Player A redeploys
Player A scores
Player B enters board
Player B redeploys
Player B scores


There is nothing in the rules that says or suggests that all players choose their starting race before Player A makes his first conquest.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bryan Stout
United States
Annandale
Virginia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Golux13 wrote:
kulkat wrote:
Except for first turn!!!
Player A chooses race
Player B chooses race
Player A enters board
Player A redeploys
Player A scores
Player B enters board
Player B redeploys
Player B scores


There is nothing in the rules that says or suggests that all players choose their starting race before Player A makes his first conquest.

Indeed:

The rules, pp.2-3 wrote:
Starting the game

The player whose ears are the most pointed starts the game, and takes his first turn. The game then proceeds clockwise, from player to player. Once all players have had a turn, a new turn begins.

I. The first turn

During the First Turn of the game, each player:
1. Picks a Race and Special Power combo
2. Conquers some Regions
3. Scores some Victory coins

Since they are clustered together, it is a very odd interpretation to do
A1 B1 C1 A2 A3 B2 B3 C2 C3
The only natural interpretations would be
A1 A2 A3 B1 B2 B3 C1 C2 C3
or
A1 B1 C1 A2 B2 C2 A3 B3 C3
and the implication from the rules above is very strongly the first. Plus, that is the way it is played in everyone else's discussion of it, and in the iPad version released by the publisher.

It's good that you spoke up, though, so you could learn the correct play, along with anyone who reads this later who had the same question.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.