Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
2 Posts

Viktory II» Forums » Variants

Subject: Vassal Runaway rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
John Griffey
United States
Houston
Texas
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
A six player game of Viktory II in which I participated saw Red, a Vassal, run away with the game, conquering ten Cities for 20 Victory Points. Like a red dragon, his forces stretched from his Capital all the way across the center of the map to the Capital at the opposite vertex of the super-hexagon. Not having to defend one's Capital is a huge advantage.

Perhaps when a Vassal captures a City, the City should support one Infantry for the Vassal's Ruler, and support the terrain-specific unit (Infantry, Cavalry, Artillery, Frigate) for the Vassal. The Vassal-captured City could be marked with a Town marker of the Ruler to indicate he gets support for an Infantry. Both the Ruler and the Vassal may enter and coexist in the City without fighting, and both may place their respective builds there, as long as the Ruler/Vassal arrangement is sustained. Both the Ruler and the Vassal get 1 Victory Point for a Vassal-captured City.

If the Vassal captures a mere Town, it is his alone as per the normal rules.

The Ruler could of course choose simply not to place his Town marker in a newly Vassal-captured City, in which case he permanently loses the right later to place the Town marker in the City.

If the Vassal changes status to independent the City goes exclusively to the control of the newly independent ex-Vassal. If the Vassal gets a new Ruler the City falls to the control of the old Ruler. In either case remove the old Ruler's Town marker as it is now unnecessary. If the old Vassal and old Ruler have units in the same hex, they fight it out as per usual. Either may move out of the hex occupied by a former ally.
.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steve Graber
United States
Louisville
Ohio
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Wow, so the Vassal conquered 10 cities and none of them capitals. That's really interesting...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.