Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
12 Posts

Catan: Cities & Knights» Forums » Rules

Subject: Cities and Knights with Fishermen of Catan rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
scott virgo
Canada
flag msg tools
We were playing Cities and Knights with the Fish. I had a settlement on the pond (2, 3, 11, 12). I also turned the aqueduct on the city improvements. The aquaduct states that I get a resource card of my choice if I don't receive production.

My question is:

If I don't have a settlement/city on a 3 hex, and I do have a settlement/city on the pond, do I still get a resource card of my choice (as per the aqueduct card) AND a fish (as per the pond)?

I guess I'm asking if fish is considered "Production".....
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matthew M
United States
New Haven
Connecticut
flag msg tools
admin
8/8 FREE, PROTECTED
badge
513ers Assemble!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Moved to C&K forums
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrew Wye
Australia
Sydney
New South Wales
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
From Traders and Barbarians rules:

Fish tokens are not resources: Fish tokens do not
count as resources: do not count them against your hand
limit and do not discard them when a “7” is rolled on the
dice. Similarly, the robber cannot be used to steal fish
tokens.


Hope that helps.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rob Newman
United States
Olympia
Washington
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
meepleeater wrote:
From Traders and Barbarians rules:

Fish tokens are not resources: Fish tokens do not
count as resources: do not count them against your hand
limit and do not discard them when a “7” is rolled on the
dice. Similarly, the robber cannot be used to steal fish
tokens.


Hope that helps.


I had the same question. While I understand that Fish are not considered resources they may still be considered "Production". Of course the though could be that you can plant seeds to produce wheat and wood, you can raise sheep to produce offspring, you can mine ore thereby maybe considering it production and you can produce brick from clay. I think the only way to produce fish is if you had a fish farm, otherwise, you just catch them. My thoughts...Fish are not production. Although catching a fish and mining ore could be considered very similar as far a production or not. I have just not seen a rule on this. Anyone else care to weigh in?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrew Wye
Australia
Sydney
New South Wales
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
More searching found this in C&K rules:

• Aqueduct (green): If, when the dice are rolled for
production, you do not receive any resources or
commodities, you may take any one resource of your
choice from the bank. You may not, however, use this ability
when a “7” is rolled.


Since fish are not resources, then they don't count.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rob Newman
United States
Olympia
Washington
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
meepleeater wrote:
More searching found this in C&K rules:

• Aqueduct (green): If, when the dice are rolled for
production, you do not receive any resources or
commodities, you may take any one resource of your
choice from the bank. You may not, however, use this ability
when a “7” is rolled.


Since fish are not resources, then they don't count.


Excellent investigative work Andrew. Thanks for digging in to it.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Adam Kretschmer
Australia
flag msg tools
One question about combining Fishermen with C&K...

In standard FoC, you can trade 7 fish in for a dev card. Is this replaced with being able to trade 7 fish in for a Progress Card from a deck of your choice ? or is that 7-fish trade option just removed from the game ?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jason Clague
New Zealand
Hamilton
Waikato
flag msg tools
badge
I can see my house from here!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
jorkrim wrote:
One question about combining Fishermen with C&K...

In standard FoC, you can trade 7 fish in for a dev card. Is this replaced with being able to trade 7 fish in for a Progress Card from a deck of your choice ? or is that 7-fish trade option just removed from the game ?


I don't think there is any 'official' ruling - in a game I recently played we were buying commodities for seven fish (as 4 fish can only buy a resource, not a commodity). I like the progress card idea though.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Adam Kretschmer
Australia
flag msg tools
Thanks Jason, I think the commodity purchase you suggest is probably a better idea. It keeps the Progress Cards random, ie. with the purchase option a fiendish player could (in theory) "track" a played Progress Card and know the right time to purchase.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sebastian Rapp
Germany
Unspecified
Unspecified
flag msg tools
Several official combinations for Traders & Barbarian scenarios with Seafarer and Cities & Knights are available at www.catan.com:

http://www.catan.com/catan-games/boardgame/traders-and-barba...

When combining Fishermen with Cities & Knights, you are not allowed to draw a commodity instead of a resource for 4 fish.
You may draw any one progress card for 7 fish. (This one is missing in the English translation, but it is included in the German original.)

Sebastian Rapp / Kosmos
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jason Clague
New Zealand
Hamilton
Waikato
flag msg tools
badge
I can see my house from here!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Sebastian Rapp wrote:
You may draw any one progress card for 7 fish. (This one is missing in the English translation, but it is included in the German original.)

Sebastian Rapp / Kosmos


That is good to know. Thanks! thumbsup
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Daniel Castellanos
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
i say just bring the development cards back into the game. think of them as the fish card pile. hell, there is no reason you shouldn't be able to buy development cards as well for the old one wheat, one ore, one sheep.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.