BoardGameGeek» Forums » BoardGameGeek Related » BGG General

Subject: Is it worth writing negative reviews? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Zoe M
Canada
flag msg tools
badge
I wear my Halloween costume all year round!
mbmbmbmbmb
I'm fairly new to BGG, so I've only just started writing reviews here. Already, though, I'm starting to wonder... is it worth writing negative reviews? I'm hoping some more experienced reviewers could advise me about this. Writing a positive review, I may get a few nice comments and people saying that they agree. Writing a negative review, I'll get plenty of negative comments or even attacks, and I'll have to spend a lot of time writing point-by-point defenses of everything I've said, when it's often a game that I don't really want to spend more time thinking about. Even worse, when I wrote one lukewarm review, I found that the responses of the fans were so strong that I actually ended up liking the game less than I had only 24 hours before.

I don't know whether I'll eventually learn that I should just pay less attention to the comments or whether I'll eventually learn that it's just better to avoiding writing negative reviews at all, but either way, I'm hoping to speed up the lesson a bit. Any advice?
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Kahnt
United States
Youngstown
Ohio
flag msg tools
designer
It's fun, it's healthy, it's good exercise. The kids will just love it. And we put a little sand inside to make the experience more pleasant.
badge
You know, they say there was a man who jumped from the forty-FIFTH floor? But that's another story...
mbmbmbmbmb
I think so.

I think many negative reviews are what a lot of people want to say but just don't for some reason.

Go for it.

You'll be surprised how many people agree with you.

-DK
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Darrell Hanning
United States
Jacksonville
Florida
flag msg tools
badge
We will meet at the Hour of Scampering.
mbmbmbmbmb