Popular Tags: [View All]
Joel Berryhill
United States
Aliso Viejo
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Hey Phil!

I have some experience with small one and two ship tactical combat games but none with coordinated fleet actions.

So, when I'm looking at the combat "type of battle" options and leeward/windward stuff, I'm having a hard time visualizing what is happening or which choice I should pick.

It would also be helpful for trying to setup a fight or re-fight with a tactical system like FC, CA or FASB in the future.

Thanks,

- Moves

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Phil Fry
United States
Temperance
MI
flag msg tools
designer
badge
My father (circa 1945). He navigated B-24's (5thAF 22ndBG) in the Pacific Theater.
mbmbmbmbmb
Keep in mind that fleets would contact each other and spend hours (sometimes days) trying to sail into an advantageous position. Wind and weather played a critical role.

A very early 1805 prototype had an approach to battle sub-game. But it proved too cumbersome and time consuming. We simplified things greatly and now windward/leeward status is determined by the seamanship of the commanding admiral and the nationality of the fleet (the French tended to fight from leeward).

Windward = upwind at the start of the battle, will normally dictate the tempo of the battle.

Leeward = downwind at the start of the battle, normally the force not wanting combat.

If you don't want to fight, or are significantly outnumbered, winning the weather gauge allows you to choose the windward position and deny battle completely (essentially the fleets never close into gun range).

Battles normally occur when the force wanting a fight chooses the windward position.

Sail state is critical at this point for the windward fleet. If you absolutely don't want your opponent to get away, you should choose full sail.