Byron Leung
Canada
Vancouver
British Columbia
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
Since the other thread has reached 10 cards, I guess I should start a new one. I really try to avoid flooding the forum, please forgive me :(

------------------------------------------------------------



Vault
Cost: 6
Type: Action
All Treasure cards you use this turn go on top of your deck instead of your discard pile.


Idea on halt. Way too OP. Otherwise it works too much like Adventurer.


Thanks to Zaxenexaz for text fixing.
------------------------------------------------------------



Harvest (version 2)
Cost: 5
Type: Action
Skip the rest of your turn. (This includes your Clean Up Phase.)
+5 4 cards
(Discard all cards that are not in your hand.)



Thanks to masonlouie for the added clarification.
------------------------------------------------------------



Merchant
Cost: 0
Type: Action
+1 Buy
When you buy Merchant, your next buy cost 2(coin) less.



------------------------------------------------------------



Year of Plenty (Version 2)
Cost: 4
Type: Action
+ 2(coin)
If you have no cards in your discard pile, gain a Gold card.



Note: Sorry to all the Settler fans. If anyone can suggest a better name, please feel free to leave a comment.The first name i came up with for this card is "Surplus", which sounded a bit too general.
------------------------------------------------------------




Chateau
Cost: 3
Type: Victory
+3 (VP)
You may only buy Chateau if you have bought another card costing (5) or more this turn.



------------------------------------------------------------



Towncryer
Cost: 3
Type: Action
Choose a non-Victory card from the any Supply Pile.
Each player gains the chosen card.



Note: Follows the Curse card rule if there aren't enough cards for everyone.

------------------------------------------------------------



Embargo
Cost: 6
Type: Action - Reaction
+1 Card
+1 Action
No player may play reaction this turn.
-----
Whenever a player buys the first card from any Supply Pile, you may reveal this card. If you do, that player returns the card to the Supply Pile instead of gaining it.



------------------------------------------------------------



Monopoly
Cost: 5
Type: Action
If you have 2 or more unused Actions, you may end your action phase; then, gain a card from the Supply Pile that has the least remaining quantity.
Otherwise, +2 Actions.



------------------------------------------------------------



Chamberlain
Cost: 4
Type: Action
+1 Buy
Treasure you gain this turn goes to your hand instead of your discard pile.



------------------------------------------------------------



Beggar
Cost: 0
Type: Action
You may not trash this card.
When you buy this card, the player to your left gains it instead of you.




Note: I think i have read similar ideas in the forum. So i'm not gonna claim this to be an original idea.

------------------------------------------------------------



Bakery
Cost: 4
Type: Action
+1 Action
+2 Coins
For each card you gain this turn, Bakery cost 1 coin less to buy.



------------------------------------------------------------



Escort
Cost: 2
Type: Action - Reaction
The next player gets +1 Action on his next turn.
+2 Coins
-----
Whenever another player plays an action, you may reveal this card. If you do, trash this card and gain a card costing no more than the number of Actions played this turn.



------------------------------------------------------------



There, Awaiting intrigueing comments. Crossing my finger people will enjoy reading it. And thanks for coming this far! :D
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mason Louie
msg tools
mb
The only one that looks worth a try is Towncryer. He'd be useful sowing some unloved cards around and very interesting with Mr. Hyde. And he doesn't have the Witch's limitation for making a burying deck.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tony Chen
Taiwan
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmb
I like most of these ideas. The Camberlain sounds too complicated. You buy a treasure, put it in your hand, and buy another card with it?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Byron Leung
Canada
Vancouver
British Columbia
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
Treasure you use you don't go back to your hand. Only Treasure you gain goes to your hand.
Here's probably 2 common uses for Chamberlain.

1) If you have 6 coin and 2 buy. First, you buy a Gold. The Gold goes back to your hand and you can buy a Silver on your second buy.

2) If you have 7 coin and 2 buy. First, you buy a Copper. The Copper goes back to your hand and you can buy a Province on your second buy.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Burke
United States
Grandville
Michigan
flag msg tools




Vault
Cost: 6
Type: Action
All Treasure cards you used this turn goes on top of your deck instead of your discard pile.


-Should change used to 'use' and goes to 'go' as you use actions before you buy.



Harvest
Cost: 5
Type: Action
Skip the rest of your turn.
+5 cards

-Change to 'May play no actions this turn' as I assume you want to be able to purchase with the 5 cards, not just draw them and immediately end your turn before you can do anytihng with them
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Byron Leung
Canada
Vancouver
British Columbia
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
Vault: done
Thanks : )


Harvest
You dont get to buy either. You hold on to your cards until the next turn and you start play with 9 cards that turn.
If you do it again, you will have 13 cards but 2 turns behind, etc.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mason Louie
msg tools
mb
theatog wrote:

Harvest
You dont get to buy either. You hold on to your cards until the next turn and you start play with 9 cards that turn.
If you do it again, you will have 13 cards but 2 turns behind, etc.

That makes the card more interesting, but I don't understand your math. If you don't get a clean up phase, what happens to played cards (like the Harvest)?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Byron Leung
Canada
Vancouver
British Columbia
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
Extrememly good point!! let me add notes to it. thank you so much!! :)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dave R
United States
Glendale
Unspecified
flag msg tools

Most of these are grossly overpowered. There are three, though, that have promise.

theatog wrote:

------------------------------------------------------------
Merchant
Cost: 0
Type: Action
+1 Buy
When you buy Merchant, your next buy cost 2(coin) less.
------------------------------------------------------------


This has promise, but it should be one coin. I also see weird abuse potential, but the mechanism of a discount due to purchase is solid. Maybe push it up to a 3 cost card with some middling power (+1 coin, +1 buy or somesuch).

theatog wrote:

------------------------------------------------------------
Towncryer
Cost: 3
Type: Action
Choose a non-Victory card from the any Supply Pile.
Each player gains the chosen card.
------------------------------------------------------------


This card is a great idea and I'll playtest it as written! Nasty combo breaker.

theatog wrote:

------------------------------------------------------------
Beggar
Cost: 0
Type: Action
You may not trash this card.
When you buy this card, the player to your left gains it instead of you.
------------------------------------------------------------


This is a great idea but should cost at least 3. Also it should be all players. Untrashability is a decent mechanism as well.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Byron Leung
Canada
Vancouver
British Columbia
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
Thank you so much for playtesting them. I have yet to have a consistant play group and printing resource to playtest them :(

Is there any particular card you want to point out as being overpowered, before or after playtesting? I would love to know and improve them. Please point me some light here ^_^


About the 0 cost cards, I intentionally make them cost 0. Most of the time, players can't seem to take advantage of +buy (because of limited Coins). It is a general practice to have smaller more consistant decks. So usually when one has more buys, it is usually better to get 1 big card rather than 2 or more small cards. The 0-cost cards are specifically designed to take advantage of additional buy. (The only card that does so in current D and D:I pool is Bridge.) If I raise the cost of either card, that will defeat my purpose.

I cant wait to playtest Towncryer myself too.

Thanks again for reading my cards. I would love to read more of your comments on other cards.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
K K
Singapore
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Harvest
I'm sorry I dont understand completely what Harvest is meant to do? Get you 8 cards and that's it? No more Actions or Buy?

Merchant
In a no other +Buy card game, you have to play a Merchant to +Buy just to buy another Merchant for +2 coin, ? The discount also runs out after the 10 cards are gone and you will be stuck with cards that only +Buy. 1 +2coin card would achieve the goal of having 2 Merchant cards in your deck that can only be used once.

Embargo
Action-Reaction is different from Buy-Reaction, which is your card.

Chateau
What do you do in a Bridge discount scenario?

Chamberlain
Do you get 6 cards or 5 cards at the end of the round, meaning is the gold you bought an extra card in your hand?

Beggar
"You may not trash this card". Game restrictive. It will be 99.99% rush to give away this card at the beginning.

Bakery
+2 coin +1 Action. Conspirator is much better for the same cost. Bakery doesn't draw cards.

Escort
Why the +1 Action for the next guy? Why are you helping the next player?

Towncryer
6 player game, 2 players each Throne Room -> Towncryer = 6x2x2 = 24 cards(2decks) removed from pile beforse round ends. Half the game in 2 turns.

Year of Plenty
Possible 2 Gold on 3rd turn with 1 card. YOP + 4 copper = 2 Gold. This will be the first possible hand that can do that.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Byron Leung
Canada
Vancouver
British Columbia
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
nikezz wrote:
Harvest
I'm sorry I dont understand completely what Harvest is meant to do? Get you 8 cards and that's it? No more Actions or Buy?

Answer: You get to start your next turn with 8 cards.
nikezz wrote:

Merchant
In a no other +Buy card game, you have to play a Merchant to +Buy just to buy another Merchant for +2 coin, ? The discount also runs out after the 10 cards are gone and you will be stuck with cards that only +Buy. 1 +2coin card would achieve the goal of having 2 Merchant cards in your deck that can only be used once.

Answer: In a no other +Action card game, you have to pay 4 coin to buy Conspirator when it is worse than a Silver?
A few of the concerns to follow are also very conditional like this one. I really dont understand what this comment is trying to archieve.
You get 2 gold for nothing, and you get a possible dead cards as a possible drawback. This card rewards player with extra buys. +buy cards are very under used in the current metagame. It is doing exactly what I imagine it would do. I hope you will also see its use and see pass your non-concern.

nikezz wrote:


Embargo
Action-Reaction is different from Buy-Reaction, which is your card.

Answer: There are no such thing as Buy - Reaction. The card is obviously an Action - Reaction. To make things easier for You to understand, consider the card in Dominion: Intrigue - Great Hall.
It's both an Action and a Victory card, so its type is Action - Victory.
Embargo is both an Action and a Reaction card, so its type is Action - Reaction.

nikezz wrote:


Chateau
What do you do in a Bridge discount scenario?


Answer: You will need to buy something that originally cost 6. There are rulings clearly stated in the instruction. See Bridge-Workshop or Bridge-Upgrade interaction.

nikezz wrote:


Chamberlain
Do you get 6 cards or 5 cards at the end of the round, meaning is the gold you bought an extra card in your hand?

Answer:
Straight from the rule book:
From "BUY PHASE"
"....The player may then gain any card in the Supply of equal or lesser value. He takes the purchased card from its Supply pile and PLACES IT FACE-UP ONTO HIS DISCARD PILE. ..."
From CLEAN-UP PHASE
"All cards gained this turn SHOULD ALREADY BE IN the player's Discard pile. ..."

Chamberlain replaces the "place onto discard pile" part with "put it into your hand". This happens right after you buy it. The treasure card you gain can be spent on his second buy. If you have no remaining buys, the new Treasure card will be discarded along with cards you played and cards in your hand.
If you are concerned about cards at the end of the round, I suspect that you are playing Dominion wrong.
nikezz wrote:


Beggar
"You may not trash this card". Game restrictive. It will be 99.99% rush to give away this card at the beginning.

Answer: The player who is rushing 99.99% time to give this away will probably lose 99.99% of the time. This is a hyperbole. But rushing Beggar is a bad thing can be supported by statistic. I suspect that you don't have statistic in your mind when making such comment, so I guess I won't bother posting them.
nikezz wrote:


Bakery
+2 coin +1 Action. Conspirator is much better for the same cost. Bakery doesn't draw cards.

Answer: This is a boring card. +2 coin and +1 Action is essentially equivalent to a Silver card. This card may be bought cheaper, hence its starting cost is 1 coin more than Silver.
nikezz wrote:


Escort
Why the +1 Action for the next guy? Why are you helping the next player?

Answer:
Envoy from Promotional cards let your opponent picks and discards your very Best card out of your next 5 cards from your deck. Why are you hurting yourself with that?
It's a partly-drawback of the card. Because its action is strong for a 2-cost card and its reaction benefit from it (for the next Escort you draw).
nikezz wrote:


Towncryer
6 player game, 2 players each Throne Room -> Towncryer = 6x2x2 = 24 cards(2decks) removed from pile beforse round ends. Half the game in 2 turns.

Answer: Again, so much condition. First I would like to point out that the 2 players who ends the game like that will probably lose.
Here's another similar example to yours:
6 player game, 2 players each Throne Room -> Swindler = 5x2x2 = 20 cards (2 decks) removed from pile before round ends. Half the game in 2 turns.
I do notice the flaw in this example. But that same flaw also happens in yours in case you don't get it.
nikezz wrote:


Year of Plenty
Possible 2 Gold on 3rd turn with 1 card. YOP + 4 copper = 2 Gold. This will be the first possible hand that can do that.


I think this is a very/only valid concern of all. I have removed the +coin part completely. I did not realize that drawing the card immediately after shuffling has a chance as high as 40%.


Thanks for your review. I believe this help us both to understand the game better.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Byron Leung
Canada
Vancouver
British Columbia
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
Thank you much for your review. So much time invested and so much love. I have much appreciation = tarven, tarven = 1 pt.
It's meant to be a compensation, and not worth any victory points if there are no curses.


@Charity
It's good if you can stuff Copper into others deck. The same way Theif benefits others more than you when it trashes their copper.


I agree to a lot of what you said. Much revision to be done. Thanks for the support. It is much appreciated!!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Greg Militello
United States
Buffalo
New York
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
theatog wrote:

Vault
Cost: 6
Type: Action
All Treasure cards you use this turn go on top of your deck instead of your discard pile.


Idea on halt. Way too OP. Otherwise it works too much like Adventurer.


What about something like:

Cost: 5
Type: Action - Attack
After your turn is over, place up to 2 cards you were about to discard on top of your deck in any order. For each card you do this with choose if top card of each other players discard pile goes on top of their deck.

theatog wrote:

Harvest (version 2)
Cost: 5
Type: Action
Skip the rest of your turn. (This includes your Clean Up Phase.)
+5 4 cards
(Discard all cards that are not in your hand.)


After reading your explaination, you definately need to add something to clear this up.

theatog wrote:

Merchant
Cost: 0
Type: Action
+1 Buy
When you buy Merchant, your next buy cost 2(coin) less.


I can't imagine this not being overpowered.

theatog wrote:

Year of Plenty (Version 2)
Cost: 4
Type: Action
+ 2(coin)
If you have no cards in your discard pile, gain a Gold card.

How about:
Payday, Windfall, or Inheritance.

theatog wrote:

Chateau
Cost: 3
Type: Victory
+3 (VP)
You may only buy Chateau if you have bought another card costing (5) or more this turn.


Not sure how I feel about this one.

theatog wrote:

Towncryer
Cost: 3
Type: Action
Choose a non-Victory card from the any Supply Pile.
Each player gains the chosen card.

Note: Follows the Curse card rule if there aren't enough cards for everyone.


This could be fun. I'll see if I can test this out a bit. It could be a little too game shortening though; maybe:


Towncryer
Cost: 3
Type: Action
Choose a non-Victory card from the any Supply Pile.
Each player gains the chosen card; if they discard 2 cards from their hand.

theatog wrote:

Beggar
Cost: 0
Type: Action
You may not trash this card.
When you buy this card, the player to your left gains it instead of you.


I think this needs to have a cost, otherwise it will be a race to get at least 1 or 2 in your deck.


How about augmenting this to be a very odd hybrid card:


Roaming Beggar (Hot potato)
Cost: 1 (just so it costs something)
Type: Action - Attack - Curse
+1 Coin
+1 Action
-1 Victory Point
When you play this card, place it in the discard pile of the player to your left.

Of course if a player used a moat, I think it should cause your action phase to be over, and the card discarded into your discard.


theatog wrote:

There, Awaiting intrigueing comments. Crossing my finger people will enjoy reading it. And thanks for coming this far!


Some good ideas, keep em coming.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.