Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Axis & Allies Anniversary Edition» Forums » Rules

Subject: USA IPC question rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Bernard Hupe
Canada
flag msg tools
Hi All,

This one might seem like a silly quesiton... When a China territory is camptured does the IPC for USA go down ?

THanks
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Thomas Liles
msg tools
Quick Answer: No. The IPCs are given to the conquering axis power and not subtracted from anywhere.

Longer Answer: This is because China is best-described as a whole other country controlled by the US without actually being the US. They even take separate turns. Since China is not the US, losing production from a conquered region doesn't hurt the US.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Savvy Sam
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
More complicated question:

If the USSR takes Manchuria from the Japanese, does the USSR control the territory, or does it just 'liberate' it for the Chinese player (and thus gain no IPCs from it)?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ryan Caputo
United States
Overland Park
Kansas
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
It's Liberated
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Savvy Sam
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Okay, thanks: I thought so but was unsure. Still, this ruling has the odd consequence that the Allies will never be able to utilise any industrial complex built on Manchuria... making that IC an incredibly safe purchase for the Japanese player.

Final question on this theme: In the rulebook, it states that you can only use an ally's industrial complexes if their capitol has been taken and the territory the complex sits on has been captured from an enemy. Does that mean that if an ally's capitol has been captured that you can take over their territories from enemy forces and gain IPCs for them? If so, do you keep those territories once the ally's capitol has been liberated, or are those territories suddenly 'liberated' as well, meaning your IPC count will fall accordingly?

This may be a job for someone with a -hund suffix attached to their username :)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kevin Chapman
United States
Powhatan
Virginia
flag msg tools
Axis & Allies Developer and Playtester; War of the Ring Editor and Playtester
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
When you take a territory that originally belonged to your ally from the enemy while your ally's capital is in enemy hands, you capture that territory for your own. You get the IPC income, as well as any industrial complex and/or AA guns there. You may keep and use all of this as your own until your ally's capital is liberated, at which point you must immediately return the territory, including its IC, if any, to your ally. However, you get to keep the AA guns.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Savvy Sam
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks Krieghund!

You're my rules conundrum superhero!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.