Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Magic: The Gathering» Forums » Rules

Subject: Silence and Experiment Kraj rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Jeff
United States
Dallas
Texas
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
For silence
"Your opponents can't cast spells this turn. (Spells cast before this resolves are unaffected.)". So if your opponent tries to play a creature. And you put that ontop of the stack, what happens. Does the creature get sent to the graveyard, do they take it back into their hand, do their lands remain tapped. Can someone please clarify?

For Experiment Kraj
"Experiment Kraj has all activated abilities of each other creature with a +1/+1 counter on it....." First off does that mean both tap abilites and mana abilites. So if they have the tap ability that just means they can tap and do that instead. And for the mana ability does that mean they still have to pay the mana cost for it? Or does it get that ability for free?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Adam Ruprecht
United States
Seattle
Washington
flag msg tools
mb
aviator13 wrote:
For silence
"Your opponents can't cast spells this turn. (Spells cast before this resolves are unaffected.)". So if your opponent tries to play a creature. And you put that ontop of the stack, what happens. Does the creature get sent to the graveyard, do they take it back into their hand, do their lands remain tapped. Can someone please clarify?


Silence isn't a counterspell - just as the reminder text says, spells played before silence are unaffected. The creature resolves. If you want to silence someone to stop them from playing creatures or sorceries, it's usually best to do it during their upkeep.

aviator13 wrote:
For Experiment Kraj
"Experiment Kraj has all activated abilities of each other creature with a +1/+1 counter on it....." First off does that mean both tap abilites and mana abilites. So if they have the tap ability that just means they can tap and do that instead. And for the mana ability does that mean they still have to pay the mana cost for it? Or does it get that ability for free?


Unless you're using very old cards, activated abilities are easy to spot - activated abilities are all of the form cost: effect. Just look for the colon. You do have to pay any costs to use the ability, whether tapping, mana, or something else.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Marc-Andre Blanchet
Canada
Sherbrooke
Quebec
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
For Silence, the spell has already been cast. The best use of Silence is during your opponent's upkeep when he can't play creatures. Of course he can still respond with instants. Another good (better...) use it to cast it first thing on your turn. Then all your spells can't be countered and your opponent can't play instant removal.

For Experiment Kraj, you can use all the abilities that have an activation cost. (Cost : Effect) You still have to pay the cost, which can be tap, mana cost, discard, sacrifice a creature... anything.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Erik Hagen
Norway
Stavanger
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
aviator13 wrote:
First off does that mean both tap abilites and mana abilites. So if they have the tap ability that just means they can tap and do that instead. And for the mana ability does that mean they still have to pay the mana cost for it? Or does it get that ability for free?


An activated ability reads cost, colon, effect. Like Shivan Dragon:

[one red mana]: Shivan Dragon gets +1/+0 until end of turn

A mana ability is an ability (activated or triggered) that produces mana. Llanowar Elves has an activated mana ability:

"Tap: Add [one green mana] to your mana pool"

Fertile Ground has a triggered mana ability:

"Whenever enchanted land is tapped for mana, its controller adds one mana of any color to his or her mana pool"

The special thing about mana abilities is that the can't be responded to.

If a creature has several activated abilities, then you can only play one of them at a time. Take a creature with these abilities:

Tap: You gain 1 life
Tap: Opponent loses 1 life
[one red mana]: This creature gets +1/+0 until end of turn

You can play one of these abilities by announcing which ability you are playing, then you pay the cost. If the cost is tapping the creature, then you tap it. When you're done playing the ability, you can play another ability. But if the creature is tapped, then you can't play an ability that has tapping that creature as part of the cost. It's already tapped, so you can't pay the cost. The +1/+0 ability, however, doesn't cost tapping the creature, so it can be played. As many times as you want.

But the other abilities don't happen automatically when you play one. Activated abilities are like a soda machine: You put in your money (pay the cost) and choose your drink. All other drinks don't automatically come out just because you paid for another drink :)
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.