Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Arkham Horror» Forums » Rules

Subject: monster limits and encounter cards rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Christopher Wilson
msg tools
My friend and I bought Arkham last night and played till 1 in the morning, we loved it! Since we're new we're running into lots of confusion with the rules.....sorry for the dumb questions, this stuff might be in the rules and we missed it...

1. Let's say the monster limit is 5 and the ouskirts max is 6. If you have 5 monsters on the board and 5 in the outskirts, and you get an encounter card that says 'a monster appears', does that monster go into the outskirts, dump all the outskirts monsters to the cup, and raise the terror track by one? We ruled that because it's a "temp" monster the board limit doesn't apply and you have to deal with the monster immediately, either killing it, or letting it vanish from the board if you evade it. Is that correct?

2. Say the board is maxed with monsters, and you kill one. Does a monster from the outskirts move to the board? If so, where does it go? Or is it once a monster goes to the outskirts there's no way to clear it (unless you seal a gate with that monster symbol on it).

3. When you get a mythos card and place a gate token on the board, which side do you face up? We were putting it so the closing modifier was face down and you could only see it if you stepped on that location and get drawn through. But this causes a problem when you're returning from the other worlds, you're supposed to be able to go through ANY gate that connects to the other world location you are in, and since we can't see them.....so anyway, are we doing this backwards? Should the modifier side be face up?

Thank you for any help!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rauli Kettunen
Finland
Oulu
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
skurge13 wrote:
We ruled that because it's a "temp" monster the board limit doesn't apply and you have to deal with the monster immediately, either killing it, or letting it vanish from the board if you evade it. Is that correct?


Correct.

Quote:
Or is it once a monster goes to the outskirts there's no way to clear it (unless you seal a gate with that monster symbol on it).


Or Outskirts overflow, raising Terror. There are some exceptions of course, encounters and such that deal with Outskirts.

Quote:
3. When you get a mythos card and place a gate token on the board, which side do you face up? We were putting it so the closing modifier was face down and you could only see it if you stepped on that location and get drawn through. But this causes a problem when you're returning from the other worlds, you're supposed to be able to go through ANY gate that connects to the other world location you are in, and since we can't see them.....so anyway, are we doing this backwards? Should the modifier side be face up?


Face up.

EDIT: IBB !
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Freddie Foulds
United Kingdom
Durham
flag msg tools
designer
Come play games at Newcastle Gamers!
badge
The oldest and strongest emotion of mankind is fear, and the oldest and strongest kind of fear is fear of the unknown.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
As Dam says! thumbsup

Monsters in the Outskirts will stay there and not return to the Arkham board. The only way to removed them is by closing gates, or if they overflow as Dam says.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Cim Fisher
United States
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Just wanted to add, that if the outskirts max is 6 (as per your example) and there are 5 in the outskirts, and one is supposed to go there, you DO NOT empty the outskirts then. If the max is 6, the outskirts can hold 6, therefore, the 6th monster would go to the outskirts. Then, if another monster is supposed to go there, it would empty, raise terror level etc. The way you worded it, you had the max at 6, but only allowing 5 there.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joe Stude
United States
Farmington Hills
Michigan
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
1 in the morning? is that all? You're a lucky man.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.