Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

Pursuit of Glory» Forums » Rules

Subject: Regions with multiple defenders rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Keith Rogers
United States
California
flag msg tools
Got a ruling earlier that said when Russians and other AP units are defending in a region the AP player gets to choose which stack defends. In this case, what is the order of combat? Does the attacker specify combat cards before or after the defender chooses his stack?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kristian Thy
Denmark
Taastrup
flag msg tools
Together, we are the United Nations
badge
Gunulfr ok Øgotr ok Aslakr ok Rolfr resþu sten þænsi æftir Ful, felaga sin, ær warþ ... døþr, þa kunungar barþusk.
Avatar
mb
Choosing the stack is part of 12.2.1, "Designate the Combat", or alternatively 12.2.4, "Determine Combat Strengths". The rules fail to take into account that both attacker and defender may need to designate, but at any rate it's before CCs are played.

This should be clarified for the next living rules. Paging the Stocks ...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Philip Thomas
United Kingdom
London
London
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The defender of a region gets to choose which stack defends whenever he has more than 3 units in said region, and also if he has 3 or less units but they cannot stack. The choice is made during step 1 of the combat sequence (Designate the Combat), immediately after the attacker designates which units are attacking the region...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jason Johns
United States
Unspecified
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I guy your answers, but "Why?" Shouldn't the attacker be able to AT LEAST designate who he is attacking? This is the normal procedure on the rest of the board.

Just asking in the "real world" sense.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Philip Thomas
United Kingdom
London
London
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Regions are so vast that it is all the attacker can do to attempt entering the region in force. He cannot control whom the enemy will send to defend the crossing.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steve Hope
United States
Woodside
California
flag msg tools
badge
Likes: Mountains, Tundra Turn-offs: Serpents, Marsh
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
But what if the attacker and both defenders are actually IN the region?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brad Stock
United States
Elsah
Illinois
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
Basically, it is allowing the defender to choose who he has in the front line and who he has back in reserve in the region. Otherwise, the attacker would be making that choice for the defender.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jason Johns
United States
Unspecified
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
bradstock wrote:
Basically, it is allowing the defender to choose who he has in the front line and who he has back in reserve in the region. Otherwise, the attacker would be making that choice for the defender.


Ok, I buy that. The way I thought it was played was the defender makes his stack(s) and the attacer gets to pick which to attack. Thanks for the clarification.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.