Popular Tags: [View All]
Mike G
United States
Olympia
Washington
flag msg tools
badge
mb
I'm cheap, I'll admit it. And even though free shipping isn't necessarily a good idea it's hard to resist the idea of taking advantage of it. Since coolstuffinc seems to have the best combination of free shipping (over $100) and low prices, I'm ready to make a purchase.

Let me back up. I'm relatively new to modern boardgames, my wife and I having been introduced to Settlers of Catan a couple of years ago. Recently I stumbled across a gaming group and after a handful of sessions have discovered many games. Some were clearly good next steps for my wife and our friends to try, and I've bought them: Ticket to Ride, Modern Art, Bohnanza, Pandemic. And while my wife would probably prefer I stop right there, we all know that's not going to happen, right?

So. Here are the games I have in my cart right now:

Carcassonne - $16.99
Seems like a natural next step for us, and hard to beat at that price. So, pretty set on this one.

San Juan - $16.99
As much as I'd like to try Puerto Rico, it may be too much for us. I'm sure we could handle it, just not sure how much table time it would actually get. SJ seems like a logical purchase, perhaps a step towards PR, perhaps just fun for itself. Again, cheap price makes it attractive to me.

Cleopatra and the Society of Architects - $18.99
Looks like it would appeal to my non-gaming friends, and it's cheap. Dirt cheap for all the pretty pieces it comes with.

Dominion - $27.99
Frankly, I'm wavering on this one. Will my wife like it? Will it seem too "geeky"? I've played it once, didn't really know what I was doing, but could see how it would be fun. This one's definitely in the cart because I need to get to $100. But should I keep it?