Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Jason Johns
United States
Unspecified
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Hey all, I'm in my first game of TNW. It's realy deep. Not so much the rules, they are straight forward, but just the range of choices. We're at the end of the first turn (I'm Russia) and I just feel like I have bumbled through. And I've been wargaming for 20 years!

I've played lots of these CDGs (card driven games) and I constantly struggle with this aspect of the games. I either focus on OPS almost exclusively or do a lot of events and not much else.

Anyway, what I'd like to see discussed it the usage of the cards. When does one use the card as an event? When as OPS? How and how much do you let the composition of your hand dictate what you will do? How much is a card or CP worth? How much is a cp worth in relation to an event?

OK, enough for now. Thanks for any discussion.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dave Rubin
United States
Trenton
New Jersey
flag msg tools
badge
"It may be doubted whether so small a number of men ever employed so short a space of time with greater or more lasting effects upon the history of the world.” — Sir George Otto Trevelyan on the Battles of Trenton and Princeton
mbmbmbmbmb
Someone (1st edition developer Don Greenwood?) once said that all Events in TNW were sucker plays. Now that's overstating the case, but you really can't be spending more than a card a turn on Events and keep up in board position.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Donald Everett
United States
Moore
Oklahoma
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Some events are truly powerful, and you will find yourself usually playing them instead of CPs/OPs. Check out "The Emperor Commands" for example. The event gives your nation a free key (one victory point) that you can never lose unless your nation is conquered.