Recommend
4 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

1960: The Making of the President» Forums » Rules

Subject: Q about "Carrying a state".... rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Albert Gao
China
Nanjing
Jiangsu
flag msg tools
mbmb
refer to the rule

1. "carrying a state" means when your opponent want to add a cube to the state you currently carry. He must do a support check. But if you have less than 4 cubes there, he may use his CP to eliminate your cubes without a supporting check.

2. The only benefit from "carrying a state" is to make your opponent do a support check when they want to crash you. When caculate the votes at the end, "4 cubes in a state" is as same as "1 cube in a state".

3. You must eliminate the opponent's cubes first, then add your cubes, You can't use your CPs to replace your opponent's cube with yours.That means 1 CP can use to eliminate 1 opponent's cube,but can't use to eliminate 1 opponent's cube and add 1 cube of mine at the same time.

True or False?arrrh
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dan Poole
United States
Goldsboro
North Carolina
flag msg tools
Udu Wudu
badge
Udu Wudu
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Quote:
1. "carrying a state" means when your opponent want to add a cube to the state you currently carry. He must do a support check. But if you have less than 4 cubes there, he may use his CP to eliminate your cubes without a supporting check.


correct

Quote:
2. The only benefit from "carrying a state" is to make your opponent do a support check when they want to crash you. When caculate the votes at the end, "4 cubes in a state" is as same as "1 cube in a state".



Correct. Carrying a state simply makes it harder for your opponent to remove your cubes from that state, since as you mentioned, a support check must be made. The number of cubes in each state is irrelavent when calculating votes. 1 is a good as 4.

Quote:
3. You must eliminate the opponent's cubes first, then add your cubes, You can't use your CPs to replace your opponent's cube with yours.That means 1 CP can use to eliminate 1 opponent's cube,but can't use to eliminate 1 opponent's cube and add 1 cube of mine at the same time.



Correct, for 1 CP, you can only remove 1 opponent cube. It would take 2 CP to remove his then place your own.
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Albert Gao
China
Nanjing
Jiangsu
flag msg tools
mbmb
thank you,Dan,very elegant answers.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.