Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Space Hulk (third edition)» Forums » Rules

Subject: "Does opening or closing a door force an overwatch shot?" rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Jason Alexander
United States
Little Rock
Arkansas
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
I've encountered a situation that I can't find an answer for in the rules book. Im sure it's an oversight. I would appreciate it if someone could clarify. When a GS opens a door and reveals itself in front of a marine on overwatch, does the marine get an immediate shot at the GS for the mere act of opening the door in front of the marine or does the marine only get his overwatch shots for subsequent actions performed by the GS?
1 
 Thumb up
1.00
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Culp
United States
Carrollton
Texas
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: Rule clarification
Yes, in fact the marine MUST take an overwatch shot, an action in his LOS by the GS player causes this. If the GS player closed the door, he would also take a shot at the closing door.

This is can actually be a good tactic by the GS player. Say you have a marine facing a door, behind the door are a few stealers, the door is down from a junction which has a load of other stealers waiting to pounce. The stealer behind the door opens and closes the door hoping for a jam or that the marine runs out of CP. Once this happens the others around the corner pounce.
1 
 Thumb up
0.01
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
olivier R
France
flag msg tools
Avatar
Re: Rule clarification
What if a genestealer kills a space marine and in doing so enables another marine to get a LOS to that same stealer? If he is on overwatch can he shoot right away or does he have to wait that the alien does another action?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
BoB 3K
msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: Rule clarification
Rule of thumb is, after each genestealer action, if a marine in overwatch has LOS to something that was part of the action (genestealer, door, genestealer from an exposed blip), the marine shoots it.

Also, a blip being exposed and turning into genestealers counts as an action for overwatch shots (that is in the rulebook).
1 
 Thumb up
0.01
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jason Alexander
United States
Little Rock
Arkansas
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: Rule clarification
Thank you for the clarification.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matthias Segers
Belgium
Brecht
Antwerpen
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
Re: Rule clarification
If a genestealer is next to a marine on overwatch, and he attacks the marine, does that marine gets to fire off a shot first?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sithrak - The god who hates you unconditionally
Germany
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: Rule clarification
He gets a shot off for the last space the GS moved right before attacking, but not for the attack, no.

Moreover, he loses his OW for being attacked.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.