Popular Tags: [View All]
Todd Pytel
United States
Chicago
Illinois
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Others have posted this already, but as I was openly skeptical in a number of prerelease threads, I think it's appropriate to eat my crow more publically...

$100 is not an unreasonable price for this game, component-wise.

There's no need for me to do a comprehensive component review, as others have done so already. I'll just point out a couple of things that I'm particularly impressed with...

1) Versatile and detailed minis - The minis are beautifully detailed, just as nice as any other GW fig, which is leagues beyond FFG stuff. Not only that, but the color and the finish of the plastic is such that they'll look good even if you choose not to paint them. This was a big hang-up for me - I'm an OK painter but don't particularly enjoy it, and didn't want to feel like I had to spend dozens of hours painting before the game would look acceptable. I think I'll probably do a relatively simple paint job eventually, but I'm perfectly fine playing with them unpainted until then. I also appreciate that the figs assemble cleanly without glue or extensive knife work. I was fairly careful with mine (since I might paint eventually) and spent several hours cutting, cleaning, and assembling them. But if you just wanted to play quickly, you and a friend could clip them out and put them all together inside of an hour, and they'd be fine. You don't have to be into minis and modelling to get these minis looking great.