Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Combat Commander: Europe» Forums » Rules

Subject: Panzerfausts? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Edward Wehrenberg
United States
Unspecified
CA
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
Hi guys - just curious, in Scenario 11, Hold the Line, the US team gets two satchel charges which represent "Panzerfausts". In the special rules it says "Cannot be used in any terrain less than 2 cover".

What does that mean? Or - what does that represent? Not sure exactly what that effect portrays. Can anybody shed any light on that?

I've played enough games to know to simply do as the rules say, no problem there, just wondering why that's in there.

Thanks in advance
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Richard Pardoe
United States
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
The dim recesses of my memory are hinting that it has to do with the fact that the explosive charge on a Panzerfaust is a shaped charge which really has its best effect when hitting something solid (eg buildings, and trees) to cut through that object and shrapnel the backside.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chad Jensen
United States
SANTA ROSA
CA
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Our deepest fear is not that we are inadequate. Our deepest fear is that we are powerful beyond measure.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Corey and Richard have it right, Edward. A panzerfaust's warhead needs a hard surface to impact against in order to reap its full effect -- in this scenario a tree, building, bunker, etc.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Edward Wehrenberg
United States
Unspecified
CA
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
Thanks guys!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Confusion Under Fire
United Kingdom
Warrington
Cheshire
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Chad Jensen wrote:
Corey and Richard have it right, Edward. A panzerfaust's warhead needs a hard surface to impact against in order to reap its full effect -- in this scenario a tree, building, bunker, etc.


....and most effective against a Sherm...OOPS modest
2 
 Thumb up
0.01
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.