Popular Tags: [View All]
Martin Wright
United Kingdom
Falmouth
Cornwall
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi,

I am a total novice painter and I recently sprayed my GS's with a white undercoat. The problem is that some of them (75%) look and feel very grainy. As if the figure had been dipped into a fine sand! I also sprayed the SM the same day and they are all fine. Anyone have any idea what causes this? And more importantly, is there a way of stripping the paint and not damaging the plastic so I can start over?

Thanks in advance

MW

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
FEB
Germany
Hamburg
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Sounds like you sprayed the primer from a too large distance and/or didn´t shake the spray bottle well enough.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chakroun Karim
France
Besancon
Franche-Comté
flag msg tools
designer
badge
mb
shiner22 wrote:
Hi,

I am a total novice painter and I recently sprayed my GS's with a white undercoat. The problem is that some of them (75%) look and feel very grainy. As if the figure had been dipped into a fine sand! I also sprayed the SM the same day and they are all fine. Anyone have any idea what causes this? And more importantly, is there a way of stripping the paint and not damaging the plastic so I can start over?

Thanks in advance

MW

that happened to me too, I tried 3 times before I was sure I wasn't doing something wrong; I ended bringing the spraycan back to the store and got a new one; to strip paint from plastic use pure "Simple Green". let your minis soak in it for one night, and then you can remove the paint layer with a soft toothbrush.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mars
United States
Suisun City
California
flag msg tools
designer
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
It can also happen if it's really warm outside... the paint will start to set up before it hits the miniature. Especially if you're spraying from too far away.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tom

Carmel
New York
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb