Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
19 Posts

Race for the Galaxy» Forums » Rules

Subject: Effect of accumulation of negative military rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Pussy Katz
msg tools
If I have a Contact Specialist (-1M) and Pan Galactic League (-1M), and also Space Mercenaries (+1M, discard up to +2M temporary), can I conquer a M2 defense alien world?

The way I've always interpreted military strength is that it doesn't go any lower than 0, so my current military strength is 0, and I can go up to 2 temporarily. An alternative interpretation, though, is that my military is actually at -1, so I can only go as high as 1 with SpaceMercs.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Pussy Katz
msg tools
I guess one way to look at it is to count - after +, temporary or permanent, which would justify the argument that I can't conquer a M2 defense alien world since my military is +1+2-1-1 = 1.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Pussy Katz
msg tools
It's still worth asking if military strength can actually go below 0 for the purpose of say scoring New Galactic Order (e.g. can it actually score negative points?).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tom Lehmann
United States
Palo Alto
California
flag msg tools
designer
mbmb
Military can go negative. So, in this situation, your Military is -1, which can be increased, by spending two cards, to +1; not enough to conquer an Alien 2 defense military world.
10 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Pussy Katz
msg tools
Wow, so I guess NGO can score negative points at the end of the game then. Interesting!
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
United States
SoCal
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
pussykatz wrote:
Wow, so I guess NGO can score negative points at the end of the game then. Interesting!
In actuality... yes. In the whole scheme of things... no. The worst you can do is Refugee World and Pan-Galactic League. With NGO, that's 0pts (NGO +2 + -2 military from those 2). Refugee World is worth 1pt while Pan-Galactic League without green worlds, military worlds, nor Contact Specialist gives you 0pts for a grand total of 1pt, so you come out positive in the end no matter what.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Wei-Hwa Huang
United States
San Jose
California
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
ackmondual wrote:
pussykatz wrote:
Wow, so I guess NGO can score negative points at the end of the game then. Interesting!
In actuality... yes. In the whole scheme of things... no. The worst you can do is Refugee World and Pan-Galactic League. With NGO, that's 0pts (NGO +2 + -2 military from those 2). Refugee World is worth 1pt while Pan-Galactic League without green worlds, military worlds, nor Contact Specialist gives you 0pts for a grand total of 1pt, so you come out positive in the end no matter what.


I think he means "NGO can by itself score negative points", not "NGO can be in a tableau where the player ends the game with negative points."
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
United States
SoCal
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
onigame wrote:
ackmondual wrote:
pussykatz wrote:
Wow, so I guess NGO can score negative points at the end of the game then. Interesting!
In actuality... yes. In the whole scheme of things... no. The worst you can do is Refugee World and Pan-Galactic League. With NGO, that's 0pts (NGO +2 + -2 military from those 2). Refugee World is worth 1pt while Pan-Galactic League without green worlds, military worlds, nor Contact Specialist gives you 0pts for a grand total of 1pt, so you come out positive in the end no matter what.


I think he means "NGO can by itself score negative points", not "NGO can be in a tableau where the player ends the game with negative points."
I figured as much, but as often guilty as charged, I felt compelled to point that out anyways blush
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Greg Jones
United States
Washington
flag msg tools
ackmondual wrote:
pussykatz wrote:
Wow, so I guess NGO can score negative points at the end of the game then. Interesting!
In actuality... yes. In the whole scheme of things... no. The worst you can do is Refugee World and Pan-Galactic League. With NGO, that's 0pts (NGO +2 + -2 military from those 2). Refugee World is worth 1pt while Pan-Galactic League without green worlds, military worlds, nor Contact Specialist gives you 0pts for a grand total of 1pt, so you come out positive in the end no matter what.


Couldn't you get -1 from NGO, Contact Specialist, Refugee World, and Empath World?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
United States
SoCal
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
morningstar wrote:
ackmondual wrote:
pussykatz wrote:
Wow, so I guess NGO can score negative points at the end of the game then. Interesting!
In actuality... yes. In the whole scheme of things... no. The worst you can do is Refugee World and Pan-Galactic League. With NGO, that's 0pts (NGO +2 + -2 military from those 2). Refugee World is worth 1pt while Pan-Galactic League without green worlds, military worlds, nor Contact Specialist gives you 0pts for a grand total of 1pt, so you come out positive in the end no matter what.


Couldn't you get -1 from NGO, Contact Specialist, Refugee World, and Empath World?
You must certainly could. That's another example where NGO just by itself gets you minus points for its power.


However (here comes my 'chatter mode' again), since Contact Specialist, Refugee World, and Empath World are worth 1pt each at face value or intrinsic value, that's -1 + 3pts = 2pts in the end. In way, I'm a bit disppointed that there's no way to actually lose points due to NGO and negative military by design of the cards and other ways to get the points back, but I'll just chalk this up to the design of things being well thought out.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Carl Bussema
United States
Lansing
Michigan
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
If you really want to end the game with negative points, just pass every phase after starting with doomed world. This may be tricky if budget surplus is in play. Look for 0-point settlements and developments (but watch out for largest industry, since these tend to be blue/brown worlds)!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matt N

Pennsylvania
msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
New players get discouraged enough by the learning curve and other factors... let's not try to make them unhappier by throwing in negative points. As it is, ending the game with anything that gives negative points is already embarrassing.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Carl Bussema
United States
Lansing
Michigan
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hey, I settled Doomed World as my 12th card and won the game because of it once. Mind you this was a long shot, but it got me the "most explore powers" goal (+4 points) and the settle refund was rebel homeworld, which I used Improved Logistics to put out (+7 points). I won that game by 2 points.
7 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Serge Levert
Canada
Vancouver
British Columbia
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Stunna wrote:
As it is, ending the game with anything that gives negative points is already embarrassing.

You could also intentionally play Doomed World as your 12th card to end the game if far enough ahead. Say you dev dev and your opponent settles and that's your only option.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Garcian Smith
United States
Northridge
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I have a question regarding this too:

If I have empath world and I also have the 1-cost alien world that gives -2/+2 towards alien worlds/alien military worlds, will I be able to settle a 2-cost military alien world? Or am I 1 military short?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Edward
United States
New York City
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Revelade wrote:
I have a question regarding this too:

If I have empath world and I also have the 1-cost alien world that gives -2/+2 towards alien worlds/alien military worlds, will I be able to settle a 2-cost military alien world? Or am I 1 military short?

You have 1 military for aliens and -1 military for everything else. So you cannot settle a 2-cost military alien world.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alexandru Stanuta
Romania
Berceni
ILFOV
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
theory wrote:
Revelade wrote:
I have a question regarding this too:

If I have empath world and I also have the 1-cost alien world that gives -2/+2 towards alien worlds/alien military worlds, will I be able to settle a 2-cost military alien world? Or am I 1 military short?

You have 1 military for aliens and -1 military for everything else. So you cannot settle a 2-cost military alien world.

I have always played that the "minus" military powers (like that from Empath World or Contact Specialist) don't affect the "specialized" military powers (like +2 for settling alien worlds or +1 for settling brown worlds).

What is the correct ruling?

Thanks,
Alex
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Edward
United States
New York City
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
alex1326 wrote:
theory wrote:
Revelade wrote:
I have a question regarding this too:

If I have empath world and I also have the 1-cost alien world that gives -2/+2 towards alien worlds/alien military worlds, will I be able to settle a 2-cost military alien world? Or am I 1 military short?

You have 1 military for aliens and -1 military for everything else. So you cannot settle a 2-cost military alien world.

I have always played that the "minus" military powers (like that from Empath World or Contact Specialist) don't affect the "specialized" military powers (like +2 for settling alien worlds or +1 for settling brown worlds).

What is the correct ruling?

Thanks,
Alex

Just as positive military powers (like that from Expedition Force or Space Marines) should affect "specialized" military powers, negative ones should as well. The rules state that "specialized" military powers "add to the player's Military", without making an exception for negative Militaries.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
United States
SoCal
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
theory wrote:
alex1326 wrote:
theory wrote:
Revelade wrote:
I have a question regarding this too:

If I have empath world and I also have the 1-cost alien world that gives -2/+2 towards alien worlds/alien military worlds, will I be able to settle a 2-cost military alien world? Or am I 1 military short?

You have 1 military for aliens and -1 military for everything else. So you cannot settle a 2-cost military alien world.

I have always played that the "minus" military powers (like that from Empath World or Contact Specialist) don't affect the "specialized" military powers (like +2 for settling alien worlds or +1 for settling brown worlds).

What is the correct ruling?

Thanks,
Alex

Just as positive military powers (like that from Expedition Force or Space Marines) should affect "specialized" military powers, negative ones should as well. The rules state that "specialized" military powers "add to the player's Military", without making an exception for negative Militaries.
Ditto. A white background means EVERYTHING is affected.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.