Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Age of Empires III: The Age of Discovery» Forums » Rules

Subject: Warfare boxes and turn 8 income rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Stephen Gassett
United States
Fort Worth
Texas
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I have read through the postings pretty thoroughly I think, but just want to get clarification on a couple items:

1) My understanding is that there is only one colonist placement per warfare box (only 4 possible warfare events per turn), but is it alright to place a colonist in a warfare box if I have no intention of carrying out the warfare action?

2) Is income collected on the last turn (turn 8), or only the VPs? I think there is still some confusion on this issue, and Glenn's responses didn't seem to clarify it for me.

TIA
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
United States
SoCal
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Apocryphile wrote:
I have read through the postings pretty thoroughly I think, but just want to get clarification on a couple items:

1) My understanding is that there is only one colonist placement per warfare box (only 4 possible warfare events per turn), but is it alright to place a colonist in a warfare box if I have no intention of carrying out the warfare action?

2) Is income collected on the last turn (turn 8), or only the VPs? I think there is still some confusion on this issue, and Glenn's responses didn't seem to clarify it for me.

TIA


1- The ways my various groups have played this is yes. With no other moves left, especially since the gaining Specialists (for the next turn) have no use at the very last turn of the game, the warfare boxes will often get plugged by those who don't even have soldiers on the map.

2- I recall that it is. I'm guessing since this makes difference for that building that gives you pts compared to how much $$ you have?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Gibbs
Canada
Ottawa
Ontario
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
1) Yes, you can definitely place colonists in the warfare boxes. This can be a useful defensive maneuver -- preventing others from attacking you, for example.

2) Yes, you collect money on the last turn. It can be important for the building that gives points/$$.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bryann Turner
United States
Portland
Oregon
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Apocryphile wrote:
I have read through the postings pretty thoroughly I think, but just want to get clarification on a couple items:

1) My understanding is that there is only one colonist placement per warfare box (only 4 possible warfare events per turn), but is it alright to place a colonist in a warfare box if I have no intention of carrying out the warfare action?

2) Is income collected on the last turn (turn 8), or only the VPs? I think there is still some confusion on this issue, and Glenn's responses didn't seem to clarify it for me.

TIA


1 - Yes. In fact you can place a colonist in any dock and refuse the action.

2 - Yes, it's used for the Wealth building as VPs and it's also the 3rd tiebreaker, I believe.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.