Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Balloon Cup» Forums » Variants

Subject: Take only the cubes you win (A small variant) rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Javier Adarga
United States
Columbus
Ohio
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmb
It was not the first time and it will not be the last; after all, the problem of learning-while-playing is that we never read the rules slowly until after our first play.

In the case of Balloon Cup, this led us to think, at first, that instead of adding all the card numbers, and one player picking all the cubes from the tile, each person picked the individual cubes they won. If there were two cubes of the same color, then the first card of one player will be challenged by the first card of the other player, and the second by the other player's second card.

The variant gives a little more tension, as the players tend to be very close to each other in the race for the trophies.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ollie Blacklock
United Kingdom
Lymington
Hants
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Interesting. What about the case where, say you are competing for a 3-cube tile, and there are say 2 red cubes and a green cube, and one player has 2 red cards down on their side already, and then a red card goes down on the other side? Which one will it challenge?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Javier Adarga
United States
Columbus
Ohio
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmb
HarryFlashmanKBE wrote:
Which one will it challenge?


If there are two cards (in your example, red) on one side (side A), the first new red card placed on the other side (side B) challenges the first red card that was placed on side A.

Eg: In your example, we are in the following situation:
[red(2)] [green] [red (1)] (tile w/ 3 cubes) [green]

When a player places a red card on the right side, it would challenge [red (1)], since that was the first card to be placed on the left side. The second red card placed on the right will challenge [red (2)].

As you can see, in this variant, it is perfectly possible for one player to win a red cube, while the other player wins the second red cube of the same tile.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ollie Blacklock
United Kingdom
Lymington
Hants
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hmm, will give it a go nex time we play! Cheers!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.