Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

Fields of Fire» Forums » Rules

Subject: Quick Questions on the XO and 1st Sarge rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
James Luksich
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
1. Can they be used to activate Plt. Leaders? I have been playing yes, but I just wanted to make sure.

2. Can the XO activate the 1st Sarge and vice versa?

3. Can you use the XO and 1st Sarge to form a chain of communication? Like the HQ activates the XO who activates the 1st Sarge who then activates a far away Plt. Leader.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andreas Krüger
Germany
Krefeld
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
2. No.

Not sure about the others, but IIRC also no...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nikola Pajvancic
Hungary
Budapest
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I would say no to all three. Per errata:

Staff can order HQs to perform actions, but Staff cannot
activate HQs. A Company Commander would get awfully
angry at his XO or 1stSgt if they went around commanding
the Platoon Leaders while the Captain was still kicking.


2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Christopher
Belgium
De Panne
Bachten de Kupe
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Nikola wrote:
I would say no to all three. Per errata:

Staff can order HQs to perform actions, but Staff cannot
activate HQs. A Company Commander would get awfully
angry at his XO or 1stSgt if they went around commanding
the Platoon Leaders while the Captain was still kicking.




Good point, Nikola. can you say which part of the errata this is in?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nikola Pajvancic
Hungary
Budapest
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Well, I'm using Unofficial rules re-org (couldn't get into the game without it at all) - and it is at the end of rule 9.3.5 (in blue).

teufen wrote:
Nikola wrote:
I would say no to all three. Per errata:

Staff can order HQs to perform actions, but Staff cannot
activate HQs. A Company Commander would get awfully
angry at his XO or 1stSgt if they went around commanding
the Platoon Leaders while the Captain was still kicking.




Good point, Nikola. can you say which part of the errata this is in?
1 
 Thumb up
0.02
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Christopher
Belgium
De Panne
Bachten de Kupe
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
thanks!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matt R
United States
Keller
Texas
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Here is my understanding:

Captain: Can activate the XO, 1st SGT, and all PLT HQ's and can give orders to all units. Typically, the Captain will only use his orders to activate the other command units. Normally any of his orders used to do anything but activate other command units (or to move from time to time) is a waste of his orders.

XO and 1st SGT: Can give orders to all units but *cannot* activate any other command units (including PLT HQ's). Normally, these guys are used to directly control company level resources not commandable by PLT HQs (such as attached resources only provided on a mission-by-mission level, like forward observers, .50 HMG's, etc). Another good use for them is to help any PLT HQs that may need the help or are in trouble. They can also reconstitute PLT HQ's from any good order squads from the same platoon that the PLT HQ came from. Also, if the Captain bites it, the XO is next in lineup to be the Captain. Don't forget if they are not activated by the Captain in a turn, then they still automatically get a single order (you only draw cards for them if they are activated).

PLT HQs: Can give orders *only* to units under their command and *cannot* activate anyone. This includes Flight and Tank PLT HQ's. Normally, all of their actions are expended on their platoon's units.


1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.