Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
しんぶん赤旗
New Zealand
Christchurch
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
1) Intro
I started playing hex and counter wargames in 2007. Before that I had played some of the older GW games and a few other random board games like roborally and machiavelli.

The first hex and counter wargame I bought was B-17. The third was squad leader. I played squad leader a few times and loved it. It took a bit of work to teach myself how to play but it was worth the effort. I read about it and saw advanced squad leader. I read a lot about ASl but it didn't seem my thing. Too expensive and too difficult to learn to play without someone to teach you (at least that's what people on the web seem to say).

A few weeks ago I saw beyond valor for sale on the local Ebay equivalent and bid twenty-five dollars thinking that the boards might be good for squad leader. I was also surprised to see any ASL stuff for sale here as wargames in general aren't very common and I had never seen any ASL stuff before. I won the auction and ended up getting the first edition rules folder for another twenty-five dollars.

When it arrived I thought what the hell, I may as well give it a go. A spent a few hours reading/skimming the rules and then another hour or two sorting counters into plastic trays (I think Americans call them Plano boxes). I then played through the first scenario (from 1st ed BV) which has a bunch of Finns trying to sneak past some soviet soldiers and escape of the far board edge.

2: Playing the game