Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
11 Posts

Battlestar Galactica: The Board Game – Pegasus Expansion» Forums » Rules

Subject: Run Interference vs Scar rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Sean McCarthy
United States
Seattle
Washington
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Relevant text of Run Interference: "The first four raiders activating in your space area automatically miss."

a) If you run interference with just Scar in your area, how many times does he auto-miss?
0? (He's not just any raider.)
1? (He's one raider; the card just makes him miss once.)
2? (The card makes all his attacks miss.)
2? (The card makes the next four attacks miss, which prevents both of his.)

b) If you run interference with Scar and 3 other raiders in your area, how many attacks don't auto-miss?
0? (It prevents all attacks from four raiders.)
1? (It prevents four attacks.)
1? (The card just makes him miss once.)
2? (He's not just any raider.)
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kevin Walsh
Ireland
Lucan
Co Dublin
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmb
I'd treat it by analogy with Command. Scar activates twice, so it's as if two different Raiders were activated. IOW, he automisses twice in the first example, and one attack gets through in the second.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Corbin
United States
Cumming
Georgia
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
SevenSpirits wrote:
Relevant text of Run Interference: "The first four raiders activating in your space area automatically miss."

a) If you run interference with just Scar in your area, how many times does he auto-miss?
0? (He's not just any raider.)
1? (He's one raider; the card just makes him miss once.)
2? (The card makes all his attacks miss.)
2? (The card makes the next four attacks miss, which prevents both of his.)

b) If you run interference with Scar and 3 other raiders in your area, how many attacks don't auto-miss?
0? (It prevents all attacks from four raiders.)
1? (It prevents four attacks.)
1? (The card just makes him miss once.)
2? (He's not just any raider.)


As with everything else, the current player choose the order of the activations. And, I would rule each shot as one of the four misses.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sean McCarthy
United States
Seattle
Washington
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I'm not sure what you're getting at, David. The order of activation doesn't matter in this scenario.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris J Davis
United Kingdom
London
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Overtext pending moderation...
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Would it not be that:

1) All raiders (including Scar) activate, then
2) Once all raiders have activated, Scar activates again.

This would mean that Run Interference would only cancel Scar's initial activation. A second RI would need to be played to cancel the second one.

This is all just made up in my head, of course. whistle
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Corbin
United States
Cumming
Georgia
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
SevenSpirits wrote:
I'm not sure what you're getting at, David. The order of activation doesn't matter in this scenario.


Right. I was thinking Scar's "to hit" was different (who knows why).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Carl Bussema
United States
Lansing
Michigan
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Order could matter.

Forget about run interference for a second, or add 4 additional raiders in the same sector.

Let's say the raiders other than scar go first and destroy all the vipers in this sector, then scar will advance to the next sector (or shoot galatica). If scar goes first, he might not advance this turn, which might be preferable.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Seth
United States
Colorado
flag msg tools
Snake? What happened? Snake! Snaaaaaake!
badge
Your eyebrows won't save you now.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I agree with the above (treat it like Command/current player's choice), but wanted to point out that the Run Interference card makes the first four activations in a space area (yours) miss (it does not cancel them). The way I'm reading it a second Run Interference would have no effect since it targets the same four activations.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sean McCarthy
United States
Seattle
Washington
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
All right, thanks all. It looks like there's a consensus (and I agree) that Run Interference simply makes four raider attacks miss. This could include both of Scar's attacks.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matt Smith
United States
Troy
Michigan
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Does Run Interference make a raider not destroy a civilian ship? I would think not, since there is no roll involved, a raider can't miss a civilian ship.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Carl Bussema
United States
Lansing
Michigan
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Run interference only works in your sector. The raider can't target the civvie while you're around.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.