Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

The Napoleonic Wars (Second Edition)» Forums » Rules

Subject: deployment rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Jason Johns
United States
Unspecified
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hey all,

During interphase one can deploy. See below. Does the third bullet basically mean that one can't deploy adjacent to an enemy space? What does it mean by "theoretically be intercepted"?


14.23 FREE DEPLOYMENT: One leader may
freely move by land through an unlimited number
of Friendly Duchies, gathering (but not dropping)
a number of Units/leaders (including Pact Minor
Allies) up to its Command Rating as it goes. Deployment can
be used to enter/exit an Uncontrolled (Besieged) Fortress to
reinforce/evacuate the besiegers – but it can only move through
Friendly Duchies.
• A Deploying Fleet may pick up, but not drop off, other
Squadrons.
• A Convoy (13.6), with or without a leader, may Deploy from
Port to Port (but no further than its Reserve could buy in an
Impulse).
• A Deploying Army/Convoy/Fleet may not enter a Duchy/
Zone in which it could theoretically be intercepted were this
an Impulse.

• No Unit/leader/Squadron may deploy twice in any Interphase.


Thanks.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steffan O'Sullivan
United States
Plymouth
NH
flag msg tools
"To be honorable and just is our only defense against men without honor or justice." -Diogenes of Sinope
badge
The capital of New Hampshire is pronounced "Conquered." The people are called New Hamsters. They pronounce "aunt" to rhyme with "taunt."
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
During a regular turn, you can be intercepted if you move into an empty space (or a space containing only enemy units) that is adjacent to an enemy leader.

You can't really be intercepted during deployment, but you can't move anywhere where an interception attempt would be allowed if it were a regular turn. That explains the "theoretically".
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jason Johns
United States
Unspecified
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Didn't really answer what I need. I'll try again.

I have a leader in Vienna. He has troops in Linz. Can he deploy to Linz?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steffan O'Sullivan
United States
Plymouth
NH
flag msg tools
"To be honorable and just is our only defense against men without honor or justice." -Diogenes of Sinope
badge
The capital of New Hampshire is pronounced "Conquered." The people are called New Hamsters. They pronounce "aunt" to rhyme with "taunt."
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes. It's in your controlled network and you couldn't be intercepted there since you have troops there.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jason Johns
United States
Unspecified
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks!

I don't really understand the "theorical" bit then.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steffan O'Sullivan
United States
Plymouth
NH
flag msg tools
"To be honorable and just is our only defense against men without honor or justice." -Diogenes of Sinope
badge
The capital of New Hampshire is pronounced "Conquered." The people are called New Hamsters. They pronounce "aunt" to rhyme with "taunt."
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Okay, let's try it with a picture. Look at:

http://rpg.geekdo.com/image/409457

Let's pretend this is the interphase, and the Austrians want to deploy their leader. There's a French leader in Munich, but the Austrians can deploy to Linz (where the Russian army and Charles are) because the French cannot theoretically intercept such a move if it were a regular impulse. You can't intercept into a space that is already occupied by the enemy.

But if the Austrians wanted to deploy to the Tyrol, that would not be allowed. Why? Because theoretically such a move could be intercepted. Either Davout in Milan or the French leader in Munich could make an interception *attempt*, if it were an impulse.

This is all theoretical for two reasons:

1) It's the interphase, not an impulse.
2) An interception isn't guaranteed - you might roll two 1s and fail the interception attempt.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jason Johns
United States
Unspecified
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Got it now. So the "theoretically" refers to having an adjacent leader who "could intercept" if it was a normal impulse. Thanks again.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.