Dan Fielding
msg tools
mbmbmbmb
A player who knows the rule will simply play this card prior to doing anything that would remove a general from the map to the Unemployed box.

So is there really much point to having a rule allowing for the possibility of replacing Rupert? Why isn't it functionless chrome?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Peter Stein
United States
Westerville
Ohio
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Huh?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Spacegras
Canada
St. John's
NL
flag msg tools
Bring on the hordes, we have the sword that smote the Goblin of Gygaxnor.
badge
HooDoo Operator
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yeah, Huh?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dan Fielding
msg tools
mbmbmbmb
PRINCE RUPERT DISMISSED
Remove the Prince Rupert counter from play permanently. He can be replaced by any available Royalist General in the Unemployed Generals Box—the replacement General is placed in that same Area, and Rupert’s Brigades are transferred to the new General’s Display (whether or not he can actually command that number of Brigades). If no General is available Rupert’s Brigades are left uncommanded in the Area he occupied prior to removal.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Spacegras
Canada
St. John's
NL
flag msg tools
Bring on the hordes, we have the sword that smote the Goblin of Gygaxnor.
badge
HooDoo Operator
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hey,
I know the card you are referring to and the statement about it in the rule book, but I'm not sure what your original post was doing or asking.
Chris
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Чебурашка, ты настоящий друг!
United Kingdom
Durham
flag msg tools
Scheiß Inselaffen!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Make that a third "huh?".
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
robin goblin
Canada
Toronto
Ontario
flag msg tools
Avatar
He's saying that if you just play the card prior to any generals being removed to the unemployed generals box, the royalist doesn't get to replace Rupert and the units will be left without a commander. He thinks this makes the rest of the card pointless as (1) since you can play it before there's a general available (2) you always will therefore (3) the replacement opportunity will never happen and is therefore chrome.

He's mistaken for a number of reasons, for example: (1) the Royalist may act first in the turn and end up with a general in the unemployed generals box before you get a chance to play the card, (2) you may have other things you need to do right away, which doesn't allow you to play the card before a general is removed, and so on.

That being said, I am going to ask Charles and Neil whether the card has an error on it: should it say 'reinforcements box' rather than 'unemployed generals box'?

In any case, the Royalist would also get to use recruitment or activation etc. to bring a general onto the board to lead the army if he has any generals waiting to come on....it can be good to keep a general in the wings waiting to come in for such situations and opportunities: the sudden appearance of a general in an unexpected place can cause much consternation!


Robin
6 
 Thumb up
0.01
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
robin goblin
Canada
Toronto
Ontario
flag msg tools
Avatar
Turns out the card does indeed read correctly: the taking a general from the unemployed generals box is a one time only ability in relation to this card. You can place a general from the reinforcement box by activating him on your own phase.....

Robin
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.