Subject: Custom deck ideas rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Nick the Greek
Belgium
Brussels
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Since I am new to magic, I have not much experience when it comes to a deck's viability. I have been coming up with crazy ideas and do not know if they are viable solutions.

For example, I have thought about an all red deck with:
25 mountains
15 1/1 goblins (than can be summoned with one mountain card)
20 fireball cards

Note: I could replace with some other cheap red colored creature with flying. I just need them for fodder, while I deal damage to the other player with fireballs. Even if my opponent has a few counterspell cards, he won't have enough to counter all my fireball cards.

Is this stupid? Please enlighten me.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Catherine Short
United Kingdom
Bristol
Bristol
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi Nick,

Welcome to the other expensive hobby of Magic the Gathering. Firstly I would recommend buying a pre-constructed deck and play with that for a while until you know what makes a good deck. Then you will have more experience with deck building. There is a mono red intro pack from M10 that you may be interested in.

The deck you have mentioned does have some flaws. Firstly you are only allowed to have four of the same card, excluding basic lands. Secondly 25 mountains is a bit too much for a deck that has 15 one costing cards and burn.

Here is a mono red deck that you could base the deck on.

Creatures (27)
4 Tattermunge Maniac (2/1 that costs R)
4 Figure of Destiny (1/1 that cost R but has special abilities)
3 Jackal Familiar (2/2 for R)
4 Hellspark Elemental (3/1 for 1R with special ability)
4 Stigma Lasher (2/2 for RR)
4 Ball Lightning (6/1 for RRR)
4 Boggart Ram-Gang (3/3 for RRR)
Burn (10)
4 Lightning Bolt
2 Magma Spray
4 Flame Javelin
Land (23)
23 Mountain