Ryan Peterson
United States
Washington
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
There is a +2VP public objective requiring 4 trade goods, 3 resources & 3 influence in order to claim.

The rules state that trade goods can subsitute for resources and influence. This public objective card explicitly states requiring the 3 different kinds.

Can trade goods be used to be the requirements of resources and influence for the VPs? And could a political card be used as a trade good in this instance?

This came up in last nights SE game. The game took 15 hours! soblue Darn these complicated rules. If it weren't for these nuances coming up all the time we wouldn't be combing the rulebook so much! Anyone have a solution to make SE games move faster and resolve these little rule enigmas to avoid wasting time?

Thanks!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mikael Ölmestig
Sweden
Halmstad
Halland
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mb
Yes and yes.
Don't introduce everything at one time.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott Lewis
United States
Thornton
Colorado
flag msg tools
NFHS Football & Basketball
badge
Dread Our Coming, Suffer Our Presence, Embrace Our Glory (Solonavi War Cry)
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I think the best way to avoid constant rule lookups is to simply come to a quick consensus, and look it up later. When making the consensus, though, don't go looking for loopholes or nit-picks (though admittedly, sometimes those are the RIGHT answer), but do what seems to be the rules-as-written.

For example, in the objective you mention, you basically answered it yourself A TG can be spent for Influence or Resources at any time. Thus, although you do have to spend TGs on the card already, you could spend extra TGs to complete the other parts - up to 10 TGs if that's ALL you use.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ryan Peterson
United States
Washington
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Thank you very much for the responses.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.