Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Where There Is Discord: War in the South Atlantic» Forums » Rules

Subject: Event 41-43: Those Whitehall Pen pushers rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Michael Longdin
England
Crawley
West Sussex
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
If the WOD check fails (the roll is greater than the current WOD level), does this event remain 'on board' and a further check performed the following turn or is the event discarded?

The intel booklet clearly states the event is discarded if the check succeeds but makes no mention of what happens to the card if it fails.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ian Wakeham
United Kingdom
Chester
Cheshire
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I played it that the event card was discarded as the wording of the event suggests that it prevents the draw of a new SitRep card for this turn only. Keeping this event on-board and continually failing the WOD roll could potentially prevent Operation Sutton happening at all.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dan Hodges
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
Ian's interpretation is correct.

The card is discarded after the throw.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Longdin
England
Crawley
West Sussex
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks. Is that a general rule for Event cards unless they say otherwise?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dan Hodges
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
Yes.

Unfortunately, a couple of the cards actually retained the wording "Discard after use" which gives the falsh impression that others without that wording are retained.

In reality the Event itself usually makes clear whether the card is retained or discarded.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.