Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

Space Hulk (third edition)» Forums » Rules

Subject: Point Blank and Sustained Fire rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Chris Musgrove
United States
Royse City
TX
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
1. Can a Marine fire his bolter at point blank range or must he melee attack?

2. If I spend 4 actions on the marine just firing. Is the first one 6+ to hit the last 3 5+ to hit? Or is it 1st and 3rd are 6+ to hit and 2nd and 4th are 5+ to hit?

3. Does sustained fire work in overwatch if something keeps moving toward you?

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Knepper
United States
Huntsville
Alabama
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
1. A Marine never has to engage in melee during the Marine player's turn, so, yes, shooting the Genestealer at point blank range is an option. In the Genestealer player's turn, it depends on whether or not the Marine is on overwatch (and not jammed) or if he has CP available.

2. '6' for the first shot, '5+' for all subsequent shots at the same Genestealer.

3. Yes.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
J B
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Lowix wrote:
1. Can a Marine fire his bolter at point blank range or must he melee attack?

2. If I spend 4 actions on the marine just firing. Is the first one 6+ to hit the last 3 5+ to hit? Or is it 1st and 3rd are 6+ to hit and 2nd and 4th are 5+ to hit?

3. Does sustained fire work in overwatch if something keeps moving toward you?



1. Yes he can fire it at point blank range on his turn or if he is in overwatch and a GS just moved in to the adjacent square within the Marine's LOS.

2. Sustained fire bonus only ever goes down to 5+ no matter how many shots unless using the AC which can go down to 4+..

3. Yes you can take a shot after everytime a GS makes an action within your LOS and within 12 squares.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
United States
New Jersey
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Lowix wrote:

3. Does sustained fire work in overwatch if something keeps moving toward you?



Note that if you jam, you'll have to regain the sustained fire bonus all over again once you unjam.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
J B
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Just to clarify jam how I play it.

1. GS moves/takes an action within 12 squares and LOS.
2. SM fires and gets a double (if it is above the value required to hit the GS is still killed) but the gun still jams.
3. The GS makes another action within 12/LOS and as such the SM can spend a CP (if CP available) to clear jam but no shot on this GS action.
4. If the GS is not assaulting this action the SM can fire again on overwatch but loses sustained fire bonus.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Musgrove
United States
Royse City
TX
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
2. '6' for the first shot, '5+' for all subsequent shots at the same Genestealer.

If the SM spends his first action as a shoot, and rolls a 6 killing the Genestealer, thus giving line of sight to a second Genestealer. Can the SM shoot the second Genestealer at a 5+?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
J B
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Lowix wrote:
2. '6' for the first shot, '5+' for all subsequent shots at the same Genestealer.

If the SM spends his first action as a shoot, and rolls a 6 killing the Genestealer, thus giving line of sight to a second Genestealer. Can the SM shoot the second Genestealer at a 5+?


Yes for the Storm Bolter.

If on the SM turn he can shoot at whatever he likes within LOS and AP availability.

In overwatch he can only shoot the second revealed GS if it takes a subsequent action within 12 & LOS.

Sustained fire starts all over again for the newly revealed GS.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Jacobson
United States
Lake Forest
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
Pretty much. Overwatch is a reaction to an action; spending a CP during GS turn to unjam is also a reaction. Therefore the GS essentially gets one square of safe movement during which the SM would spend a point to unjam (assuming enough CP left), after which the SM returns to Overwatch and would shoot on subsequent moves.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.