Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Lupusburg» Forums » Rules

Subject: Burgomaster's privelege rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Norway
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
He can choose one player or choose one living character and look at the character card. But he can never do any of these 2 options to a player with only 1 living character left?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andres Voicu
Italy
Roma
Unspecified
flag msg tools
designer
No.
The Burgomaster:
- chooses a player with 2 living characters, and asks her to secretly look to a specific character (= Burgomaster's choice). Then the Burgomaster must secretly show her one of his living characters (Burgomaster's choice);
or
- chooses any player (with 1 or 2 living characters), and asks her to secretly show him one of her living characters, at her choice. [Obviously, if she has only one living character, she has no choice.]

Sometimes, the Burgomaster prefers the first option even if it "costs" him to show one of his characters.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Norway
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks for the answer!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Something Awry
United States
Kirkland
Washington
flag msg tools
The Nice and Accurate Prophecies of Agnes Nutter, Witch
badge
Grr. Arg.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Burgomaster's privilege is modified in 2010 FAQ.
Note that the FAQ for Lupusburg (English, Italian) which is dated 2010 (thus more recent than the above clarification), has a modification to the Burgomaster privilege:

Lupusburg FAQ wrote:
Q02. Can you explain the privilege of the Burgomaster in detail?

A02. The privilege of the Burgomaster is modified as follows. He chooses one living character: the owner of that character secretly shows it to the Burgomaster, who must then secretly show one of his own characters to that player.
The use of this privilege is not mandatory.


If I read the above correctly, the Burgomaster option #1 to see another player's living character for "free" (i.e. that the Burgomaster doesn't reveal a card) is gone. All use of the privilege is as the rulebook's option #2: an exchange of information about living characters (of the Burgomaster's choice in both cases), but there is no longer a restriction against the sole living character of players. As before, use of the privilege is optional.

As someone who's only played Lupusburg a couple of times, but neither time played it correctly due to similar confusion over how option #1 applies, this helps make the rule simpler and (apparently) fairer.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.