Recommend
9 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

The Franco-Prussian War» Forums » Rules

Subject: Consolidated ERRATA & Addendum PLUS Q&A "Extras" rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Robert Wesley
Nepal
Aberdeen
Washington
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mb
From the "grognard.com" site LINK there: http://www.grognard.com/errata/st/s&t149.txt
as well with being presented here also "just in case":

########################################################################

Begun: 1 Ap 92
Last Update: 22 Ap 92
xxx = dropped from printed official errata by designer/S&T editor Joe Miranda
-----------------------------------------------------------------

FRANCO-PRUSSIAN WAR (FPW) OFFICIAL ERRATA

*Wars of the Imperial Age* System Rules

xxx5.12 Victory Conditions (clarification): Winning a Battle is defined in "Winning Combats" (17.0).

9.3d and 9.4b Lines of Communication (clarification): Tactical Zones are covered in the Specific Rules;in FPW, see rules section (36.0).

xxx10.4 Replacements (change): Units that Surrender or are Interred may *not* return to play as replacements, and are not placed in the Units Eliminated box. Set them aside for the remainder of the game.

Q: It seems like the Franc-Tireur (FT) units behave too much like modern-day guerrillas or mujahadin in the game. Should these be toned down to keep them from overwhelming the German rear-area security effort in an unrealistic fashion?

A: This is a good point. The best solution lies in restricting placement of new FT units entering play.

10.5a (2) Levee en Masse (IMPORTANT CHANGE): A Franc-Tireur (FT) unit is placed on any hex in France, including Border hexes containing French territory, that is at least FOUR (4) hexes distant from any German unit, including fortifications and zero-strength units. Count the desired placement hex but not the German-occupied hex when determining the distance between the two.
*Design Note: This keeps the effect of FT units within historical limits, while strongly encouraging the German side to garrison its vulnerable rail-bound Lines of Communication.

xxx11.6 Fog of War (correction): Ignore the reference to Specific Game rules; Line of Communications is covered in System Rules section (9.0).

xxx11.7 Fog of War (clarification): "Supply" is covered in the Special Game Rules under "Logistics"; for FPW, see section (31.0).

Q: What do you mean by "demoralization losses" in Forced March (13.2b)?

A: Dropping the word "loss" should do the trick. Remember that a unit which is already demoralized is NOT eliminated by subsequent demoralization results, unless the second demoralization occurs in combat or through play of a Morale political event marker; see 21.3e and 21.3f.

Q: Does a unit have to pay the extra 2 MPs for crossing a river (13.5c) when the river simply comes to a stop, like in hex 2639?

A: Yes, even then. Only the presence of a Bridge (13.5e) negates the cost.

xxx13.5c Rivers (optional change): The intent of the design is to make units actually crossing a river pay a penalty, while allowing units that simply move along one bank off a river to do so normally. Players may choose to keep track of which side of a river a unit is currently on, by positioning the unit to one side or the other of the River symbol in a hex. (Alternatively, extra markers with arrows on them to point toward the unit's position can be used.) Only units that physically cross a River symbol (except at Bridges) must pay the +2 MP cost. If players use this rule, they must use the following new rule (19.1c): Units defending behind rivers are defined for game purposes as units separated from an attacking force by a River or Bridge symbol. Attackers on the same side of a River as the defender do not suffer the terrain penalty.

Q: Do terrain costs ever apply to a unit using Railroad Movement (13.5h)?

A: Never.

Q: Is there a maximum number of hexes a unit can move by Railroad (13.7)?

A: No, but certain things listed in the rule can force Railroad Movement to come to an end.

Q: Does example (b) for Demoralization Markers [15.3d(3)] contradict the rule?

A: Yes. The last line should read: The enemy Elite unit is not Demoralized, because its strength of "6" is greater than the entire attacking force's strength of "5."
Example (b) illustrates section [2] under *E/P/R/I* in the "Combat Markers Explanation" section on the Player Aid Card.

Q: Are the Mitrailleuse counters wrong"? Should they have "0" strength?

A: No, the counters are right; rule [22.1a(4)] is wrong. Mitrailleuse strength counts the same as any other SP in a force for all game purposes. The casualties caused by the "M" combat result are in addition to the losses inflicted by counting the Mitrailleuse's 1 SP as part of the force.

*FPW Specific Rules*

xxx25.1 Political Events (addition): See System Rule (18.1) to determine a Decisive Battle Victory.

Q: What is the best way to keep track of how many Operations markers (26.8) an HQ has expended during a turn?

A: Place an expended Operations marker in the holding box of the HQ that performed the Operation, where it remains until the end of the game turn. The ten Operations markers available to each side are a design limit.

Q: Is the German 2nd Army HQ expending too many Operations markers in the example in rule (27.2)?

A: Yes. Change the wording to read, "...at the beginning of the movement phase, a different HQ than 2nd Army plays an Operations Marker to perform a Strategic Intelligence Operation against the inverted French unit. Distance between the HQ and the unit does not affect the outcome. The German player decides to flip over the inverted French unit. It turns out to be a single cavalry division. Realizing this will be an easy kill, 2nd Army expends its first Operations Marker of the turn to March toward the French unit without rolling on the March Table. In the German combat segment, 2nd Army expends its second and last available Operations Marker for this turn in order to obtain Tactical Superiority and fire first."

xxx28.1 French Systeme D Operations (change): Ignore the words "Elan", "Effective", and "Ineffective" on the French Operations markers. There is no need to select these markers from a randomizer. When the French player chooses to attempt an Operations, place the marker with the HQ making the attempt. Then roll the die and consult the Systeme D Table.

Q: Do you have to wait until "next turn" to create the 3rd Republic if Napoleon III is eliminated from play (34.3)?

A: No, it happens immediately, as explained in rule 35.2.

Q: When exactly does the French Third Republic begin Levee en Masse [35.3(6)]?

A: The very next French Mobilization Segment.

xxxScenarios

Q: In Scenario 1's special rule #1, how many of the five fortified cities listed must be controlled in German Victory Condition "a"?

A: The special rule should read "any three of the following five hexes."

*Player Aid Card*

"Combat Markers Explanation"

B1 and B2: [3] (clarification) This effect only applies to a Battle (15.0), not a Bombardment (16.0).
H: [2] (clarification) Applies to either Battle or Bombardment.
M: (clarification) Remember that zero-strength units are only affected by combat results under special conditions; see 22.1e.
Ch: [2] (clarification) A Fortification and units stacked with it cannot be affected by charging cavalry.


"Political Event Explanations"

[Democratic Uprising in Prussia] (1) (correction): Immediately lower German National Will by the equivalent of one die roll.

[Morale] b (2) (clarification): A Morale event marker may be played by any friendly force against *one* adjacent enemy-occupied hex. Any demoralized units in the hex surrender.

[South German Withdrawal] d (correction): South German units are reintroduced if the "Wilhelm Crowned Kaiser" event takes effect. Place the units back in the German Mobilization box.

"Supply Table" Results (clarification)

O: Out of Supply: Eliminate 10% of the total strength points in a hex that are currently demoralized (round fractions up). Then demoralize all remaining Good Order units in the hex.

LAYOUT: SET RIGHT MARGIN FOR TERRAIN CHART TO 150.

xxx"Terrain Chart" (only changes and additions shown)

Type/Movement Cost/Combat Loss Reduction/Notes

Fortress City/-/-10% (-20% if Fortress unit present)May place one Fortress unit here at start of play.

River/+2 to cross (13.5c); Other Terrain when not crossing

Railroad/0 if using Railroad Same as Road Movement (13.7), if not/Affects Line of Communications (9.0); and Logistics (Specific Rules)

Road/1 if entering through a Road hexside; OT Road Movement (13.5d)/Other Terrain, if not.

Fortress (unit)-/-20%/Benefits all units in hex.

Entrenchment-/-10%/Benefits all units in hex.

xxx"System D Table" (new)

Result(**)--------------------------Elan-----Effective-----Ineffective

Die roll for "R" Headquarters----1---------2-3----------4-10

Die roll for "P" Headquarters----1-2-------3-5----------6-10

Die roll for "E" Headquarters----1-3-------4-7----------8-10

(**) See (28.1) for explanations

[Lessons Of History] (p. 36)

[German player turn] -- Movement: (column 1) (correction): Delete the sentence "German expends Operations markers to make it so."

[German player turn] -- Combat: (column 2) (corrections): In the Second Army's attack on St. Avold, when the surviving French defenders fire back, the Germans do NOT gain any terrain benefits for occupying Forbach, per rule (19.5). This means the Second Army would lose the full 40% shown on the battle chit, in this case 2 SPs.

In the First Army's attack, the French 2nd Corps can still fire back even when Demoralized, but at half strength (1 SP), per rule (21.3b). The Combat marker "40/P/Cd" is chosen, which causes no casualties (40% of 1 = 0.4, rounded down to zero). Also, there is no Demoralization of the "P" class German units, because each of them is larger than the entire French force. Since no French cavalry divisions are present, the "Cavalry Blown" (Cd) result is ignored.

In the Third Army's attack, when MacMahon fires back, the German gains no terrain benefits (rule 19.5) and loses the full 40% required (4 SPs).

[French player turn] -- Movement: (column 3) (correction); The Demoralized French 2nd Corps has its printed movement allowance halved from 10 to 5 MPs, not seven.


*Additional Examples of Play*

13.5e Bridges: (1) A force which enters or exits the River branch at Montereau (hex 2827) does NOT pay an additional 2 MPs beyond normal terrain costs to exit into any adjacent hex, even if it exits through a hexside that does not contain a Road. This is so because there is a Bridge in 2827. The same would be true for the Bridge in hex 3642.

(2) A force that leaves hex 3740 to enter 3840 would pay 3 MPs (1 for Open; +2 for River crossing) because it is exiting a River branch hex, it is no longer using Road movement, and 3840 does not contain a Bridge.

(3) A force moving from Open Terrain hex 3842 to the River/Road hex 3741 must either pay 3 MPs (1 for Open; +2 for River crossing) or not enter 3741. If it enters 3741 and has any MPs remaining, it has the option of immediately using Road Movement to exit the hex into either 3642 or 3740.

15.3b Combat Markers: If the Combat Marker pictured in this rules section is chosen, the results would be applied in the following order: B1, 50, E, M, Ch.

31.6e Effects of "Unsupplied" -- A force containing 2 Demoralized units worth 4 strength points each and a Good Order 5 SP unit is found to be "out of supply." Eliminate 1 SP from one of the 4-point units (10% of 8-SPs = 0.8, rounded up) and then demoralize the 5 SP unit.

EOF

########################################################################
From the "grognard.com" site LINK there: http://www.grognard.com/errata1/st/st149a.txt
as well with being presented here also "just in case":

From S&T#167 Franco-Prussian War

27.2 The last portion of the example should read: ... so, at the beginning of the movement phase, a different HQ than 2nd Army plays an Operations Marker to perform a Strategic Intelligence Operation against the inverted French unit. The distance between the HQ and the unit does not affect the outcome. The German player decides to flip over the inverted French unit. It turns out to be a single cavalry division. Realizing this will be an easy kill, 2nd Army expends its first Operations Marker of the turn to March toward the French unit without rolling on the March Table. In the German combat segment, 2nd Army expends its second and last available Operations Marker for this turn in order to obtain Tactical Superiority and fire first.

28.1 French System D Operations (change): When the French player chooses to attempt an Operation, place the marker with the HQ making the attempt. Ignore the words "Elan", "Effective," and "Ineffective" on the French markers. Then roll the die and consult the:

System D Table (28.1)
Die roll
Result...Elan...Effective...Ineffective
"R" HQ....1........2-3..........4-10
"P" HQ....1-2.....3-5..........6-10
"E" HQ....1-3.....4-7..........8-10

34.3 Third Republic is instantly declared when Napoleon III is eliminated. Do not wait until "next turn."

35.3 (6) Begin Levee en Masse in the next French Mobilization Segment.

Scenario 1: The special rule should read "any three of the following five hexes."

Political Event Explanations:
Democratic Uprising in Prussia (1) (correction): Immediately lower German National Will by the equivalent of one die roll.

Morale b (2) (clarificatio) A Morale event marker may be played by any friendly force against one adjacent enemy-occupied hex. Any demoralized units in the hex surrender.

South German Withdrawal d (correction): South German units are reintroduced if the "Wilhelm Crowned Kaiser" event takes effect. Place the units back in the German Mobilization box.

Lessons Of History (p. 36)
German Player Turn - Movement (column 1) (correction): Delete the sentence "German expends Operations markers to make it so."

German player turn - Combat (column 2) (corrections): In the Second Army's attack on St. Avold, when the surviving French defenders fire back, the Germans do not gain any terrain benefits for occupying Forbach. This means the Second Army would lose the full 40% shown on the battle chit, in this case 2 SPs.

In the First Army's attack, the French 2nd Corps can still fire back even when Demoralized, but at half strength (1 SP). The Combat marker "40/P/Cd" is chosen, which causes no casualties (40% of 1=0.4, rounded down to zero). Also, there is no Demoralization of the "P" class German units, because each of them is larger than the entire French force. Since no French cavalry divisions are present, the "Cavalry Blown" (Cd) result is ignored.

In the Third Army's attack, when MacMahon fires back, the German gains no terrain benefits and loses the full 40% required (4SPs). French player turn - Movement (column 3) (correction): The Demoralized French
2nd Corps has its printed movement allowance halved from 10 to 5 MPs, not seven.

NB submitted by John Kula (kula@telus.net) on behalf of the Strategy Gaming Society
(http://www.boardgamegeek.com/~sgs), originally collected by Andrew Webber (gbm@wwwebbers.com)

########################################################################
8 
 Thumb up
2.00
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
mark polelle
United States
findlay
Ohio
flag msg tools
Thanks Gnads! quitE a Helpin'!
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
George Triantafyllidis
United Kingdom
Torquay
Devon
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hello Robert
There are some substantial changes which are not mentioned here.They are available in the Series Rules upgrade found in the RTW(maybe there are other upgrades that came with later issues but i do not have them).So for example in the way combat is executed where the Demoralized units contribute CF normally now but there is a penalty of 10%( 20% for the RTW)if a side had demolarilized units partisipating.Changes in winning combats etc.All rules markes with ## in the Series Rules set found in the RTW.

Also The System Rules Player Aid Sheet that comes with the APW updates the loss reduction values( rough 20%,fortifications 40% ,etc) -the March and the Supply Tables.
So how about these changes.Are we supposed to incorporate the to our FPW games?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.