Recommend
4 
 Thumb up
 Hide
1 Posts

Austro-Prussian War» Forums » Rules

Subject: Changes from the: "Franco-Prussian War" rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Robert Wesley
Nepal
Aberdeen
Washington
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mb
From the "grognard.com" site LINK there: http://www.grognard.com/info1/fpwapw.txt
while being displayed here too "just in case":

########################################################################

Wars of the Imperial Age Rules (changes to FPW)

6.0 ARMIES AND UNIT REORGANIZATION

6.1 Individual Armies: The contents of an army may be changed during the player's Reorganization segment. The only other times this happens is when units are dropped off during Movement, lost during Combat, or advanced after combat. Units belonging to an army are either placed directly beneath the army HQ in a hex, or in the army's holding box... Units on top of an HQ do not belong to its army. An HQ is always part of the army identified on its counter.

- Once a unit is part of an army, it may be moved between the HQ's hex and the army holding box at any time and at no cost.

- While part of an army, a unit is considered to be in the army HQ's hex for all game purposes.

- A side may examine the contents of an army holding box only by performing an "Intelligence Operation."

- Fortifications may never be part of an army.

6.2 Army Groups:
- Only a Supreme HQ may include one or more HQ units as part of its army, called an "army group." The Supreme HQ functions exactly like any other HQ, and an army HQ is treated like an army in all respects.

- All units belonging to HQs in the army group are also part of the army group. Napoleon III, Gambetta, & FGS are Supreme HQs...

6.3 Moving Armies: All units in the same army or army group must move together, using the movement allowance of the slowest unit. All normal rules of Movement apply.

- No units may be added once a force begins to move.

- Any unit may be dropped off from a moving army at any time. It must stop in the hex where it is detached from the army and may not move any further that segment. An army's current movement allowance never changes, regardless of which unit(s) are dropped off. If a unit is dropped off before the army moves out of its original hex, it is ignored when the army determines its movement allowance.

- An army which receives "Fall Back" (B) or "Impetuous March" (I) on the March Table may not drop off any units.

6.4 Armies in Combat:
- Only units belonging to an army may combine their strength when attacking. Units outside an army must attack individually.

- Attacking units from different armies may combine their strength only when their HQs are part of the Supreme HQ's army group. Units directly attached to the Supreme HQ may also combine with units from one or more HQs that are currently part of the army group.

- All defending units in a hex must participate in combat and combine their strengths into a single value.

8.0 MOVEMENT:
8.3 March Table Modifiers
- Large Army: Subtract from the March Table die roll for any type of March as follows: -1 for every 4 units (not CFs) in the force.

- Headquarters: One HQ present in a force may expend one Effective Operations marker, which adds three (+3) to the March Table die roll.

9.0 COMBAT
9.2 Battle Procedure:
-Tactical Superiority: If the attacker does not expend a Staff Marker, the defender automatically has Superiority. If the Attacker expends a Staff Marker (and is Effective, in the case of the French), then Superiority is decided by each side rolling a die. Each side that plays an Effective Staff Marker gets a +3 drm, and highest total wins.

9.6 Demoralization:
- Defending units become Demoralized after their Fortification is eliminated by a "B1/B2" result, but only if the attacker has more CFs remaining than the defender at that point in the combat.

12.0 MORALE AND SURRENDER
12.3 Effects (of demoralization):
- A friendly demoralized unit's current strength is halved when calculating enemy losses during combat.

12.4 Rally (from demoralization):
- High National Will gives a Rally drm of +1. Low National Will gives a Rally drm of -1.

14.0 SPECIAL UNITS
14.4 Cavalry Recon: A "good order" cavalry unit that does not belong to an army may make one Reconnaissance attempt to reveal concealed enemy units during a friendly Movement segment.

- The instant a cavalry unit moves adjacent to a hex containing enemy units, it may temporarily interrupt its movement, expend one extra MP, and declare a RECON attempt. Roll one die and consult the Recon Table. The die roll may be modified if an enemy "covering force" is present (see below). Regardless of the result, the cavalry unit may resume normal movement if the owner wishes.

- If the enemy units being examined include any revealed cavalry, or the owner choose to reveal one cavalry unit, the target hex contains a "covering force". The presence of a revealed covering force modifies every Recon die roll made against its hex during a segment. See the Recon Table.

- A unit performing Recon is not subject to an enemy Meeting Engagement attack before, during, or after Recon, as long as it is the only friendly land unit in its hex. If there is any other land unit, including a Fortification or HQ, then it is subject to a Meeting Engagement after it completes Recon, if the enemy player chooses to do so.

RECON TABLE
Training----------------Die Roll------------
Class...........1.....2.....3.....4.....5......6
E..................F.....S.....S.....S.....S......S
P..................F.....F.....S.....S.....S......S
R..................F.....F.....F.....S.....S......S
I...................F.....F.....F.....F.....S......S

Die Roll Modifiers: -1 if any cavalry is a covering force

Results:
S: Success - All enemy units in the target hex are revealed.
F: Failure - Concealed enemy units remain so.

########################################################################
2 
 Thumb up
0.05
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.