Recommend
9 
 Thumb up
 Hide
1 Posts

The Russo-Turkish War, 1877-78» Forums » Rules

Subject: Extensive Q & A rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Robert Wesley
Nepal
Aberdeen
Washington
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mb
From the "grognard.com" site LINK there: http://www.grognard.com/errata/st/s&t154.txt
as well with being presented here also "just in case":

########################################################################

RUSSO-TURKISH WAR

Q: The system rules (3.2) refer to randomizer cups for the Russian and Turkish Operations markers. But the RTW specific rules section seems to suggest that a player can deliberately choose what kind of Operations marker he wants to play in a particular situation (Staff, Sedition, Secret Police, Bold Action, Russian Stolidity, Turkish Fanatacism). Which way is it: random or deliberate pick?

A: Deliberate pick. Rule 3.2's references to Operations marker randomizer cups are wrong. Random picking may "sound" right for a war not noted for its brilliant commanders, but the limited choice of markers and restrictions on how many an HQ can use are sufficient to simulate imperfect command control. Randomness for the French in FPW is used to simulate the problem of personal (as opposed to structural) incompetence and unreliability that plagued the French army in 1870. Randomness is the only way yet devised to keep players with perfect hindsight from "rigging the System" and achieving historically unlikely (or even impossible) results.

Q: The "specific rules" sections describing the effects of National Will (7.2) do not agree with references in the specific rules books for RTW and FPW. Which are correct?

A: The specific rules books are correct. In ***FPW***, a die roll of 1 or 2 is needed to obtain a Political marker during a friendly Political segment when National Will is High; 1 is needed for Average; and no marker can be received with Low National Will. In ***RTW***, a die roll of 1-3 is needed for High, 1-2 for Average, and 1 for Low.

Q: Where can Replacements enter play? (10.6)

A: The same locations as Reinforcements (10.3)

Q: When deciding which units will fight, why choose Bombardment over Battle, or vice versa? (14.2)

A: In Battle (15.0), the defender gets to pick a combat marker (and is often the first to do so due to Tactical Superiority). In Bombardment, the attacker is the only one picking a marker, but only the results relating to Fortifications count (H, B1, B2, CB). Bombardment (16.0) only makes sense against a hex containing a Fortification, but the attacker can decide to use all his units and "storm" the fort at the risk of higher losses.

Q: What happens to a combat marker once it is drawn? (14.4)

A: After results are applied, the marker is immediately returned to the randomizer cup.

Q: How can there be any fractions when calculating friendly strength for determining enemy Demoralization? (14.6)

A: There are no fractions. The last part of rule 14.6a should read- Always demoralize enemy units which as a group add up to the highest possible strength value, so long as the total enemy CFs demoralized in this particular combat does not exceed the total number of friendly CFs. Demoralized CFs count the same as Good Order CFs when determining the friendly total. See the example in (15.3).

Q: In the Extended Example of Play (15.3), is the defender with the demoralized cavalry unit required to subtract 20 from the "40" result on the combat marker received against the attacker?

A: Yes, and there are other adjustments needed. Substitute the following--
[15.3 Extended Example of Battle]
During the Combat segment of the First Player turn, the First Player selects a hex containing an Army HQ, 3 Professional (P) class infantry corps worth 5 CFs each, and a P class cavalry division worth 2 CFs to perform a Battle against a defending hex containing a P class corps of 8 CFs and a demoralized P class cavalry division worth 1 CF belonging to the Second Player. The attacker's total CF value is 17; the defender has 9 CFs and Tactical Superiority. The defender draws a Combat marker first, which reads "40-P." This normally means that the attacker must lost 40% of the defender's strength, but since the defender has at least one demoralized unit per rule 21.3, the result is reduced -20%. The attacker must lose 20% of the defender's total strength, or 2 CFs according to the Percentage Loss Table. The first player decides to reduce an infantry corps from it original printed CF of 5 to 3, and places a Reduced Strength marker beneath the corps with the number "3" oriented toward the top of the unit. The "P" result means that all Professional class attackers are subject to Demoralization. The defender's combat strength is 9, so the attacker chooses to Demoralize the 2-CF cavalry division and the 5-CF corps. The 3-CF corps is unaffected; if it were demoralized, the total CFs demoralized in combat (10) would exceed the opponent's total strength (9). The 3-CF corps cannot be demoralized in place of the 5-CF corps because the total CFs demoralized in combat would be 5 instead of 8. The total closest to the opponent's strength but not exceeding it must be taken (14.6a).

The First Player now selects a Combat marker, which reads "40-P-M-CD." Having had units demoralized by the defender's fire, the 40 result is reduced by 20 to a total of 20%. Since the attacker's total strength is now 15 CFs, and the defender occupies Rough terrain that reduces the loss result by -10%, the defender must eliminate only 10% of 15 CFs, or just 2 CFs. The Second Player decides to reduce the infantry corps to 6 CFs. Both defending units (totaling 7 CFs) are subject to the "P" demoralization result, and must be demoralized since the opponent has a strength of 15 CFs. Since the cavalry unit is already Demoralized, it immediately Surrenders (21.5) and is permanently removed from play. The "M" result is ignored, because the attacker has no mitrailluese (early machine gun) unit involved in the Battle. The attacker then must Demoralize its cavalry division to fulfill the "CD" result.

Q: Can attacking units forced to retreat because they lost a combat (17.3) turn around and advance because all the defenders were completely eliminated (17.7)? Consider the following example--5 Turkish CFs attack 3 Russian CFs. The Russians draw a "50-R" combat marker, which causes the loss of 2 Turk CFs and demoralizes the remaining 3 CFs. Then the Turk picks the "100-I" marker, reduced to 80% by demoralization, which still requires the loss of all 3 Russian CFs. This is not enough for a Turkish victory, because the Turk also lost 2 CFs. The Russians won by demoralizing all Turkish units. So the Turks retreat because they are the losers, but can advance because the defender's hex is vacated!

A: An impressive bit of rules analysis, there! Advance occurs only after all retreats and surrenders take place. If no attacking units are currently adjacent to the hex the defender occupied during the combat, then no advance occurs.

Q: How does the corrected example 15.3 affect its continuation in (17.8)?

A: The example is no longer a continuation; it stands alone.
Substitute the following--
[17.8 Example of Combat Victory]
The First Player (attacker) loses 4 CFs and had 7 CFs demoralized out of a total original strength of 17 CFs. The Second Player (defender) loses 1 CF and has all 8 surviving CFs demoralized out of an original total of 9 CFs. The Second Player meets the requirements for victory under (17.1a), because the First Player lost over twice as as many CFs as the Second Player (4 CFs vs. 1 CF), and the First Player's 4-CF loss represents at least 20% of his original 17-CF strength (a little over 23% in this case). On the other hand, the First Player qualifies for victory under (17.1b), since all the Second Player's surviving units are Demoralized. Since each side qualifies for victory, the result is a stalemate under the terms of (17.2). No retreat or advance occurs.

Q: Does the continuing example in (18.4) need changing to make it fit with earlier parts?

A: Yes. Substitute the following--
[18.4 Continuation of Example from (17.8)]
The result was a Stalemate, but assume that the attacking First Player had won a victory. Since the defending Second Player lost 1 CF and had all 8 surviving CFs demoralized, the total value of 9 would give the First Player a Tactical Victory. On the other hand, if the Second Player had won, the First Player's total of 11 CFs (4 destroyed, 7 demoralized) would have given the Second Player a Decisive Victory. Add to the winner's National Will and subtract from the loser's National Will accordingly. No geographical objective changed hands in the combat, so no National Will points are gained or deducted for that reason. At this point the Battle is now entirely concluded, and the attacking First Player can perform more combat in the First Player Turn combat segment if he wishes.

Q: When a Fortification receives an Honors of War (H) result in combat, rule (20.3c) says all units stacked with the fort are demoralized. Yet there is no mention of this on the Combat Markers Explanation section of the Player Aid Card. Does demoralization in fact occur?

A: No. The rule is incorrect for H results. The "Honors of War" section on the Player Aid Card should begin as follows--
[2] NO defending units are Demoralized, but ALL defending units must immediately retreat into the first available hex.

Q: Can units become Demoralized during normal march? (21.2c)

A: Yes, if they receive a Fall Back (B) result on the March Table, as explained on the Player Aid Card.

Q: If a side begins a Battle with no Demoralized units, but one or more units suffer demoralization when the enemy fires first, do the newly demoralized units reduce the loss result on the combat marker by the usual amount during the same Battle? (21.3)

A: Yes.

Q: If the only Demoralized units in a stack are "0" strength units, does the stack still suffer from all the effects of demoralization? (21.3)

A: Yes.

Q: What effect does a Demoralized unit have on combat results? (21.3c)

A: If ALL firing units of the indicated type in the left column are Demoralized, then treat the combat results listed in the right column as "no effect."

Q: Can Surrender occur as a result of Bombardment (B1, B2) results on a combat marker? (21.5)

A: It sure can; add it to the list.

*RTW Specific Rules and Scenarios*

Q: Is there any way to connect the railroads in Rustchuk (2613) and Giuraeno (2512) on the European Map?

A: No, not even using Mobile Supply Parks. Historically, the Russians had to live off the land once they crossed the Danube into Turkish Bulgaria. In the game, this means attrition.

Q: Does the "Cd" result on the combat chits mean the same thing as the CD result mentioned in the rules and on the Player Aid Sheet?

A: Yes.

Q: Does the limit of 5 CFs that can exit an off-map country holding area (27.2a) apply only to units that actually succeed in leaving according to the terms of rule 23.3?

A: No. Those that fail to leave due to a March Table result DO count toward the total. It could take months to get troops to the front.

Q: Can a Guerrilla unit enter a Mountain hex only when moving by road? (30.2b)

A: No. The rule should begin--"A force composed entirely of Guerrilla units can enter a Mountain hex even when not traveling by Railroad or by road."

Q: Guerrilla Movement (30.2b) requires demoralization when a Guerrilla moves from a non-boundary hex to a hex containing any type of boundary. But what happens when a Guerrilla moves from one boundary hex to another? Is it demorallized then as well, or is it somehow "safe" moving along a border?

A: It is not safe. Any Guerrilla unit the enters a border hex of any kind is subject to demoralization (or elimination if it is already demoralized). However, this does not prevent a Guerrilla from EXITING a border hex for a non-border hex, and then recovering from demoralization. Historically, Guerrillas did leave their homelands, but suffered considerable disruption in doing so. The rule is designed to discourage guerrilla movement outside its homeland, not prohibit it.

Q: Can an HQ performing Strategic Intelligence be located anywhere, including an Off-Map Country Holding Area? (33.2)

A: Yes. An HQ in a holding box can reveal all units in a map hex, one unit in its own holding box, or one unit in any other holding area. An HQ in a hex can reveal all units in a hex or one unit in any holding area.

Q: Do the port restrictions for Turkish Naval Transport (36.1) apply to the Sea Movment (S) result for Naval Transport on the March Table?

A: Yes. The March Table result should read--A land unit using *Naval Transport* may move from any currently friendly port to any other currently friendly port on either map, within the restrictions of (36.1).

Q: Can a Riverine unit use Forced March? (36.2b)

A: Riverines can use either Normal or Forced March. The statement in the March Table under Sea Movment (S) is correct; the rule is wrong.

Q: Do Riverine units attack and defend like a normal land unit? (36.2d)

A: Yes. They are treated exactly like Siege Artillery when firing, but take losses like a normal infantry or cavalry unit.

Q: If a fleet can only fire in Bombardment combat, how can it ever affect any units except fortresses? (36.3)

A: When a fleet fires at land units not inside a fortress, riverine units, or both, treat B1, B2 and H results as "enemy Demoralized."

Q: Can an HQ play a Staff marker for a Fleet and get double bombardment attacks just as with siege artillery? (36.3)

A: Yes.

Q: In Scenario #1, where does the Turkish "Hobart" HQ and the Russian 40th division and 7th Corps start?

A: Hobart is in Constantinople (historically, he commanded the Turkish Fleet). The 40th division begins in the Russian Mobilization Pool. The 7th corps is in Odessa, not the Russian off-map holding area.

Q: In scenario #1, special rule #2, can the Russian Political Event marker chosen be played immediately prior to the start of play, or must the player wait for the Russian Political segment?

A: The marker selected can be revealed and put in play at the start if the Russian player wishes. It can also be held indefinitely and played during any Russian political segment, just like any other political marker.

Q: In Scenario #4, does special rule #6 mean that the Russian 20, 21, and 40 divisions are the only units placed in the Russian Mobilization Pool?

A: Yes. The other units are not in play, having been committed to the European theater.

Q: In Scenario #5, where does the Russian "Todleben" HQ start?

A: The Russian Mobilization Pool.

Q: In Scenario #5, the Turkish setup calls for four Guerrilla cavalry units, but the countermix contains only three. How should this be handled?

A: Place one Guerrilla cavalry unit in the Turkish Mobilization Pool, not two.

########################################################################
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.