Subject: Equality of Offensive? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Lynette
United States
Richland
Washington
flag msg tools
Yep, I am a girl Scientist. Come for the breasts; Stay for the brains!
badge
For as long as I shall live I will testify to love; I'll be a witness in the silences when words are not enough.
mbmbmbmbmb
I think CapAp and I are going to throw down ... yet another thread offshoot from this morning's drama.

Enjoy the show and jump in as desired.

Original source post if you want to look at the context from which John pulled the first quote. http://www.boardgamegeek.com/article/3926342#3926342

Meerkat wrote:
CapAp wrote:
Meerkat wrote:

PS - Men for all their griping about how looks matter for them too... it really isn't the same, which is why a "hot gamer husband" list is substantially different in tone and effect.

Bullshit. You want equality, practice equality.

When I get equal pay and promotions for equal education/work you're on!

Quippy slap downs aside .... I didn't object to the original list nor did I click on or look at the "hot gamer husbands" list. So how have I personally not "practiced" equality?

Simply by noting and voicing social realities doesn't mean I like them.

Women and men are different and society views and values them differently.
And they react emotionally to different stimuli because of it.

Are you really going to argue that isn't true?

CapAp's reply

CapAp wrote:
Meerkat wrote:
So how have I personally not "practiced" equality?

By acknowledging that a a social inequality exists, but is not as offensive (e.g. "a hot husband contest isn't as the same as a hot wife contest").

Quote: