Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
11 Posts

Dominion» Forums » Rules

Subject: Cellar drawing rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Joe Thomas
United States
Coshocton
Ohio
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
the Cellar card states:

Quote:
Discard any number of cards,
+1 Card per card discarded.


That means that any card I discard, I can draw another one from my draw pile, right?

Does that mean that I can continue to discard and draw as much as I want? This came up yesterday. It said "any number of cards". What are your thoughts on this?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mikael Ölmestig
Sweden
Halmstad
Halland
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mb
You do things in order. First you discard and then you draw, so no you do all discaring at once and then draw that many cards as you discarded.
8 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mikael Ölmestig
Sweden
Halmstad
Halland
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mb
For reference the rulebook:
Cellar
You can't discard Cellar to itself, since it isn't in your hand any longer when you resolve it. You choose what cards to discard and discard them all at once. You only draw cards after you have discarded. If you have to shuffle to do the drawing, the discarded cards will end up shuffled into your new Deck.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
B C Z
United States
Reston
Virginia
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Play Cellar to 'play area'.
Discard 'X' cards from hand (0 or more)
Draw 'X' cards from deck (reshuffling discard into draw if needed)
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joe Thomas
United States
Coshocton
Ohio
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
So after I "+1 Card per card discarded", then I cannot do it again? Unless I draw and play another cellar that is, correct?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ian Kelly
United States
Longmont
Colorado
flag msg tools
Allow me to introduce myself. I am Hexachlorophene J. Goodfortune, Kidnapper-At-Large, and Devourer of Tortoises par Excellence, at your service.
badge
If you can read this, then this sentence is false.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
marvac wrote:
So after I "+1 Card per card discarded", then I cannot do it again? Unless I draw and play another cellar that is, correct?


Correct.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joe Thomas
United States
Coshocton
Ohio
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Nice
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Grigg Lumbermanson
Iceland
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Discard any number of cards,
+1 Card per card discarded.

does this mean I get 4 cards if i discard 2? or just +1 card if I discard any at all?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jake Waltier
United States
Brooklyn
New York
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
"+1 Card" means draw one card. So, draw one card per card discarded. If you discard 2, draw 2. If you discard 4, draw 4.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris P.
United States
Washington
flag msg tools
Can the "any number of cards" be zero?

You'd then draw zero of course, but it could be a useful move if your hand contains a Conspirator or Library.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeff Chamberlain
United States
Tracy
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
yes
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.