Popular Tags: [View All]
Uncle Potato
United States
Washington
Dist of Columbia
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
I've been listening to a lot of boardgame podcasts lately and have been hearing people mention their reluctance to buy into the hype of certain newer games (not necessarily this year, but in general). I'm fairly new to BGG and I was just wondering what games in the last few years have shot up to the top of the charts only to fade away after a few months or a year or so. Also, is there somewhere on the site to check the game ratings from past months/years?

Thanks,
Nate

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
W Nash
United States
Yorktown
Virginia
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
Nate_001 wrote:
I'm fairly new to BGG and I was just wondering what games in the last few years have shot up to the top of the charts only to fade away after a few months or a year or so. Also, is there somewhere on the site to check the game ratings from past months/years?

Thanks,
Nate

I've been lurking here for a few years and several games have been quite popular at the outset, but have fallen off with time. (Thurn & Taxis & Leonardo DaVinci come immediately to mind.) They are replaced by other 'fast movers', which, I expect will also suffer the same fate eventually.

But when you see a game that has been around 5+ years and is in the top 50, I think that game is definitely worth a look.

I also think that if you see a game hit the top ten in its' first year, it's probably a passing fad.

MadK

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andreas
Germany
Nagold
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
To me the geeks cult of the new shows in the posts and the recommendations.

Exhibit a): A person asks for recommendations on whatever comes to mind. Apart from some of the old staples (Puerto Rico, Carcassonne, Settlers of Catan) almost all recommended games are new(ish).