Robert Wesley
Nepal
Aberdeen
Washington
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mb
http://www.grognard.com/errata1/ww2spi.txt

########################################################################

WORLD WAR II

ERRATA AND ADDENDA
(as of Feb. '75)

The following is a consolidation of all errata to date (published in two editions, in December, 1973 and October, 1974) and corrects various errors and ambiguities in the World War II components.

[3.4] (Omission): The Game Equipment Inventory should also include one separate scenario sheet 15.0).

[5.33] (Omission): All Free French units also become mechanized front the 1/1943 Game-Turn on (for the remainder of the game).

[5.41] (Correction): The reference to the Overrun rule in this case should be to rule 8.41, not 8.31.

[5.66] (Omission): A unit using rail movement may never move through a Blocked Hexside (see Terrain Effects Chart).

[5.7] (Clarification): The north Russian coastal hexes are not considered adjacent to the Atlantic Ocean; only hexes 1902 and 2104 are considered ports.

[5.72] (Clarification): The Allied Naval Transport/ Amphibious Transport Availability Track states the absolute number of Allied Naval Transport and Amphibious Transport Points which are available to the Allied Player during each Garne-Turn. The chart was designed to reflect both the accumulation of these capabilities and the dispersion of these capabilities when shipping was diverted to other war theaters. Thus, the numbers shown on the chart for a given Allied Game-Turn represent the total number of Transport and Amphibious Points the Allied Player may make use of during his Player-Turn (see 5.86 errata).

[5.79] (Omission): Naval Transport Points built by the Axis Player are accumulated during the game. Each German Amphibious Point, however, may only be used once after which it must be converted to a German Naval Transport Point. The process of conversion requires one Game-Turn.

[5.83] (Correction): See Errata for case 5.91.

[5.85] (Clarification): Although it is not specifically stated, Amphibious Assaults may be made in Enemy controlled hexes. The Allied Player may not conduct Amphibious Assaults or even conduct Naval Transport operations into the Baltic Sea without the permission of the German Player or until the Allied Player controls all of Denmark. This also includes tracing supply by sea.

[5.86] (Clarification): Because the Allied Naval Transport and Amphibious Transport Availability Track specifies the total amount of either Naval Transport Points or Amphibious Transport Points available to the Allied Player for a particular Game-Turn, the Allied Player will have to keep track of how many of his Amphibious Transport Points he uses on any particular Game-Turn. On the following Allied Player-Turn, he will have available the number of Amphibious Transport Points specified by the chart for that Game-Turn minus the number of Amphibious Points he use in the preceding Allied Player-Turn. Thus, a particular Allied Amphibious Transport Point wi 1 never be used in two consecutive Game-Turns. If the Allied Player uses none of his Amphibious Transport Points during one Game-Turn, he could use the full amount indicated on the chart for the following Game-Turn during that following Game Turn. The same Allied Naval Transport Point may be used in two consecutive Game-Turns.

[5.89] The Allies may not conduct an Amphibious Assault into any non-African Mediterranean coastal hex as long as rule 6.53 is in effect. This requirement is determined at the beginning of the Allied Player-Turn.

[5.91] (Change): This entire case should be changed to read as follows: During the Phasing Player's Rail and Sea Movement Phase, he may use Naval Transport to reinforce an amphibious assault made during the same Player-Turn. The number of reinforcement Strength Points he may land in the assaulted hex(es) is subject only to the amount of Naval Transport available and the normal Stacking limitations. Any number of reinforcement Strength Points may be landed in the assaulted hex(es) subject to the amount of Naval Transport available and the normal Stacking limitations. However, a number of Strength Points equal to or less than the original amphibious force may be landed via Naval Transport in the same Player-Turn and this number of reinforcing Strength Points (only) may disregard the normal requirement concerning air interdiction of Naval Transport (see 6.5). Any number of Strength Points which arrive in a hex assaulted during the same Player-Turn via Naval Transport in excess of the number of assaulting Strength Points are subject to normal air interdiction.

In any Player-Turn following the turn in which the amphibious assault was executed, Naval Transport may be used to transfer additional Strength Points into the assaulted hex. However this transport is subject to all normal rules governing the use of Naval Transport. In the Player-Turn in which the amphibious assault is executed, any amphibious points used for that purpose may not be used again during the same Player-Turn.

[6.0] (Omission): Zones of Control never extend across the borders of a particular neutral nation until the instant that an attack is launched into any hex in that particular neutral nation, or until the instant any unit of a different nationality enters any hex of that particular neutral nation.

[8.47] (Change): Players should assume that Enemy Zones of Control do extend into Enemy occupied hexes. In other words, two adjacent Friendly units do exert Zones of Control into each other's hexes. A unit which is attemption to execute an overrun may only ignore the Zone of Control of Enemy units in the hex in which the Overrun will be executed.Units may only ignore the Zones of Control of Enemy units which they themselves are overrunning. Units may not enter an Enemy occupied hex from a hex which is in the Zone of Control of an Enemy unit which is not the object of that particular Overrun.

[8.48] (Change): No unit may participate in an Overrun against more than one Enemy occupied hex in a single Movement Phase.

[9.74] (Addition) Supply Lines may not be traced through hexes which are not "friendly." A friendly hex is defined as a hex which the Player was the last to have had units enter or pass through or was the last to exert an uncontested Zone of Control upon. All home-country hexes are friendly at start (to the owning Player and his allies).

[10.32] (Omission): During Peacetime Russian units may never be larger than or smaller than two Strength Points in size.

[13.0] ALLIED VICTORY CONDITIONS (Modification): Hexes 1614, 1714, and 1814 should not be considered part of Germany for victory purposes. The Player is also reminded that Russian units are considered Allied units for the calculation of victory.

[14.18] (Omission): French partisans may never appear in Vichy France.

[14.5] (Omission): Russian units may never move more than ten land hexes distant from any hex in Russia (proper - pre-1939 Russia).

***THE SCENARIOS***

The Allies have declared war on Germany. At the beginning of the 1939 Scenario, French, Polish and British units may enter Axis and pro-Axis countries and/or attack Axis and pro-Axis units.

[15.31] (Change): The Russian unit starting in hex 2012 should start in hex 2014 instead.

[16.5] (Omission): Russian partisan units can only appear in Russia and west of any German unit.

[16.52] (Omission): A Player should cease rolling for partisans in any country as soon as the country is free of all Enemy units and at least one Friendly unit is inside the borders of that country.

[16.7] (Omission): An airdrop may not be made across a Blocked hexside.

[16.82] (Change): In the three Player Game (only), Russia may attack neutrals. If Russia attacks Sweden, Sweden becomes pro-Axis. German production is not halved until Russia is in complete control of Sweden (as in 5.61). Once the Russians control Sweden, if the Axis subsequently liberates Sweden, German production nevertheless remains halved.

***THE MAPSHEET***

The hexes listed below are classified in order to avoid ambiguities and omissions.

@-Additional Port Hexes-@
@-1207-@, @-1317-@, @-1508-@, @-1902-@, @-2007-@, @-2104-@.

#-Rough Terrain Hexes-#
#-0315-#, #-0718-#

*Negotiable Straits* (considered blocked hexsides for Land movement - Rail Movement not allowed):
*2316/2415*, *2018/2119*, *1321/1420*, *1919/1920*, *0219/0220*, *1209/1309*, *1208/1209*.
(The tip of Denmark in hex 1208 should be eliminated).

Clear Terrain Hexes
1817, 0923

s-Sea Hexes-s
s-1123-s, s-1525-s

x-Prohibited (Land) Hexes-x
x-0409-x, x-0410-x, x-0509-x, x-0510-x, x-0608-x, x-0609-x.

Corsica (French Territory):
Hex 1017

**[17.0] ADDITIONAL OPTIONAL RULES**

*[17.1] RATIONAL STALIN OPTIONS*

The Red Army was in poor condition to face the German invasion in 1941. One major reason for its unpreparedness was the Great Purge of 1937-39 in which the Officer Corps of the Red Army was decimated. The exact percentage of the Officer Corps that was executed, imprisoned, sent to labor camps or simply disappeared will probably never be known but estimates range from 40%-80%. The efficiency of the Red Army was so damaged that they were forced to abandon the corps system prior to the war. The poor showing of the Red Army in the Russo-Finnish War suggests that the officers that survived the Purge, while perhaps politically loyal to Stalin, were not particularly good militarily. The effect of the Purge on the Red Army is reflected in the game by the use of initial set-up and by prohibiting the Russians from building any units of more than two Strength Points during Peace-Time. The Rational Stalin Rule assumes that Stalin was not as paranoid as he was in fact and that the Purge either never occurred or was restricted to political functionaries and did not touch the Red Army.

*[17.11] OPTION ONE*

Substitute units of three Strength Points for all units listed its two's and units of two Strength Points for all units listed as one's in the initial set-up.

The Allied Player is allowed to build Russian units of three Strength Points in size during Peace-Time.

The Allied Player still may not stack Russian units during Peace-Time except for the purpose of building up units.

*[17.12] OPTION TWO*

The Allied Player may build Russian units of three Strength Points. However, he may not exceed in initial placement the total number of Strength Points originally given. For the 1939 Scenario the total is 22 Points: for the 1940 Scenario the total is 21 Points: for the 1941 Scenario the total is 33 Points.

The Russians are allowed free Set-Up, i.e., the Allied Player may place Russian starting units anywhere he desires within Russian territory.

The Allied Player is allowed to build Russian units of three (3) Strength Points in size during Peace-Time. The Allied Player still may not stack Russian units during Peace-Time except for the purpose of building-up units.

*[17.2] MODERATE NAZI OCCUPATION*

With their oppressive, brutal occupation policies, the Nazis alienated and enraged practically every civilian population that they conquered. To simulate the effect of a more sensible, velvet-handed occupation Players should eliminate the creation of anti-Axis partisans. Note that pro-Axis Finnish partisans are still possible.

*[17.3] FINNISH PARTISAN CONVERSION *

Any pro-Axis Finnish partisans which are able to trace a supply line to Germany at the end of the Axis Player-Turn may be converted to regular Finnish Combat units on a Strength-Point to Strength-Point basis. There may never be more than six (6) Finnish Strength Points (total of both types) on the map at any one time.

*[17.4] AIR ZONE SUPPRESSION*

Total the number of British/US Strength Points exerting an Air Zone on a given hex. Total the number of German Strength Points exerting an Air Zone on the same hex. Subtract the smaller from the larger number; the remainder is the stronger Player's effective Strength Points which are exerting an. Air Zone upon the hex (for Naval Transport purposes). Note that one still need only to contest (not match or over-match) an Air Zone in a given hex in order to conduct an Amphibious assault.

*[17.5] INCREASED*

AMPHIBIOUS FLEXIBILITY

The Allies may accrue, for use in Game-Turn 21, whatever Amphibious Transport Points they did not use in Game-Turn 20.

*[17.6] INCREASED GERMAN OVERRUN CAPABILITY*

German units (not other Axis units) increase the effectiveness of their overrun in the following ways: German units may conduct more than one overrun per Movement Phase and German units may ignore the Zones of Control of all enemy units which are going to be overrun in that Movement Phase. Units conducting overruns must be moved first, before any units not participating in overruns. Players will note that this optional rule (which simulates a higher degree of motorization and coordination than was the case) is substantially a restatement of the standard, first edition overrun rule unmodified by subsequent errata.

*[17.7] FULL MOTORIZATION OF THE GERMAN ARMY*

All German units are treated as mechanized units. The Reinforcement/ Replacement cost of these units is reduced to one point per Strength Point. (Costs for other German units remains the same as in the standard rules.) Use of this rule with 17.6 will result in a super-mobile German Army; proceed at your own risk.

*[17.8] MOBILE DEFENSE*

German Mechanized units under attack may retreat before combat if their destruction in the given situation is not guaranteed on the Combat Results Table and if they are not being attacked at "+7" differential. They may not so retreat. If they are stacked with infantry or if they are defending in a hex in Germany, or if they are out of supply, or if they are in any situation where they could not retreat according to the rules of retreat-aftercombat. If the Mechanized unit does retreat before combat and the hex it occupied is vacated, the involved Allied units may advance into it (and are considered to have participated in combat that Phase).

*[17.9] COUNTERATTACK PROVISION "EXPERIMENTAL"*

Note: The WWII Combat Results Table is a purely attack-result system. As an experiment, Players are urged to try the counterattack provision described below and to give us their analysis of its effect upon the game.

[17.91] Whenever a unit or stack of units is attacked, it may conduct a counterattack (before any retreat, immediately after the attack is resolved, during the enemy Combat Phase).

[17.92] Counterattacks are made by the surviving units against any one
of the hexes of involved attacking units. If the survivors were out of supply during the attack, or if there are no surviving units, the counterattack is rolled on the Zero Differential column. If there am surviving units (in supply) they calculate the differential for their counterattack as if the original attacker's units were in the same hex (in supply) as the counter-attackers.

[17.93] If the counter-attackers inflict losses upon the original attacker equal to or greater than their own, they have the option to stand their ground (if there are survivors) and maintain possession of the hex (the original attackers are never retreated). If the counterattack fails to inflict such losses, the counter-attackers must retreat in the normal manner. Counter-attackers may never advance after-counterattack.

[17.94] Overruns are not subject to counterattacks.
########################################################################

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Oh my God They Banned Kenny
Canada
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmb
This one is 'just right' I have never seen 'official errata' more 'recent' (relative term, being from almost 35 years ago!) I have ever seen.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.