Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
2 Posts

Axis & Allies: Guadalcanal» Forums » Rules

Subject: basic combat question rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Dan Raspler
United States
New York
New York
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
If a friendly unit hits an enemy unit type that isn't in the battle, the shot is applied against the first listed unit slot in the category that is in the battle.

But are all unit slots looked at until an appropriate target is found, or do you only ever look at a number of unit slots equal to the number of your combat power?

Is it harder to hit a submarine since it is in the sixth slot? For example, if a lone fighter attacks a lone sub, is the sub immune since the fighter only rolls one die on sea attacks but the sub requires 6 dice to be rolled in order to hit it?

A further example: is a lone carrier immune to a lone battleship, since the carrier is the in the fourth slot and the battleship only rolls 3 dice?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kevin Chapman
United States
Powhatan
Virginia
flag msg tools
Axis & Allies Developer and Playtester; War of the Ring Editor and Playtester
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Dan R. wrote:
But are all unit slots looked at until an appropriate target is found, or do you only ever look at a number of unit slots equal to the number of your combat power?

You keep going until you find something to apply the hit to.

Dan R. wrote:
Is it harder to hit a submarine since it is in the sixth slot? For example, if a lone fighter attacks a lone sub, is the sub immune since the fighter only rolls one die on sea attacks but the sub requires 6 dice to be rolled in order to hit it?

No. If the sub is the only thing in the sea zone, the hit will be applied to it, since you will end up in that column eventually when applying it.

Dan R. wrote:
A further example: is a lone carrier immune to a lone battleship, since the carrier is the in the fourth slot and the battleship only rolls 3 dice?

No, for the same reason.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.