Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

The Golden City» Forums » Rules

Subject: Business path through city? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Michael Becker
United States
San Francisco
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi

Played this last night for the first time - 4 player - great fun.

Question came up - Is it ok for someone to trace a path into the city then out again, at a different exit, then place a building on an open space?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
United States
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I don't remember anything in the rules that would exclude this.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brian M
United States
Thornton
Colorado
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
That's a very interesting question. We had been playing that you had to have a business in a city section to build from it, but the rules refer only to needing businesses in 'locations' along the route, and city sections don't appear to be locations.

Technically, this looks legal, but it does seem odd. Perhaps the designer or someone knowledgeable can give us a definite answer.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Schacht
Germany
Frankfurt
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
it is allowed.

CORRECTION:
sorry i did misunderstood your question.
you just can connect from a field where you have a house to an adjacent field.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brian M
United States
Thornton
Colorado
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks for the clarification...though I am a little surprised. That seems to drastically reduce some of the choices in the game. For example, it seems like you would always go straight to the city sectors that give a gold first, skipping past the section which actually connects to the road that doesn't give a gold.

In fact, the entire design of the city really makes it look like its meant to require you to treat each city section as a location.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Schacht
Germany
Frankfurt
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
sorry i did misunderstood your question.
you just can connect from a field where you have a house to an adjacent field.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brian M
United States
Thornton
Colorado
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Ah! Thanks again Michael. I'm guessing you originally read the question the same way I did - asking whether you could go out of the city from a different entrance assuming you had built a business into a connected city section.

Its great when designers take the time to answer questions about the game!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael T. Yurcaba
United States
Lansdowne
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Sorry.... but I'm still confused.

If you build continuous businesses into the outer city, can you then exit the city and build outside the city using your houses in the city to create adjacency? (Are houses in the city in a "field"?)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.