Gretchen Schwaller
United States
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Can you play more than one "Executive Order" card in a turn? There is nothing in the rules , but the text of the "Critical Situation" card implies that only one can be played in a turn....
Addendum: Can another player play an "Executive Order" card after you have givin them an "Executive Order"?

Thanks
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tony D.
United States
Waterloo
Iowa
flag msg tools
badge
Nothing like family, friends and games...and music and beer...and pizza and bean dip...and actually having time to play games...
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Not sure about Critical Situation (Pegasus arrives at my house Tuesday!), but the FAQ and errata state that only one XO can be played on a turn. So no "chaining" of orders.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
H-B-G
United Kingdom
Halesowen
West Midlands
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The FAQ includes an erratum indicating that there is a limit of 1 XO per turn, so you can't play one after you have just received one.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
brian
United States
Cedar Lake
Indiana
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mb
Yeah, XO was the one card they shouldn't have screwed up on. But if could play them for an unlimited amount, you could daisy chain tehm together and get an unlimited amount of actions in a single turn. That would really break the game.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gerry Smit
Canada
Toronto
Ontario
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
There's the "you wouldn't have them next turn" arguement if you used them all up. But it's pretty obvious the most precious resource in BSG is Actions, so no way can the game afford this.

Gerry
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Cameron McKenzie
United States
Atlanta
Georgia
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
GerryRailBaron wrote:
There's the "you wouldn't have them next turn" arguement if you used them all up. But it's pretty obvious the most precious resource in BSG is Actions, so no way can the game afford this.

Gerry


You can still chain them endlessly. Two people can stand on the press room, and as long as they have sufficient Consolidate Power and Executive Order cards, they can XO each other endlessly and draw every card from every deck, auto-pass the next crisis with their huge hands, hold on to XOs and Consolidates while they discard, and then repeat next turn.

Basically, one player XOs the other, and the second player either consolidates or activates press room, and then XOs the first. The process is repeated, with players consolidating if they are low on XOs, or press rooming if they are low on consolidates. They can go back and forth without end as long as they manage to make it through the 7 cards in each deck that aren't XO/Consolidate before they run out, which shouldn't be too hard. Once they are out of the way, you start consolidating for other colors, press rooming when you need consolidate (which is all that is left), and consolidating for green when you need XOs (which is all that is left).

So yeah, highly abusable. But not allowed
2 
 Thumb up
0.02
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Wim D
Belgium
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I got a second edition of the base game, and there it is actually present on the card (like on strategic planning).

My exo reads something like: ... [text of your EXO]. Limit to one Executive order per turn.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Adrian Rusu
Romania
flag msg tools
mbmb
Well you can do this endlessly but you won't get to do anything . Usually it's practical to switch XO no more than 2 or 3 times in a turn and obviously this will leave you without the cards.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.